Pumpkin Butter IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a great gift idea... made a few batches for my baby shower favors :) I followed the suggestions from the other reviewers (2 1/2 cups white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, extra 1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice) and my pectin said to boil for 2 minutes, so I boiled the mix an additional minute. The consistency was perfect and the flavor was fantastic!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. I took the advice of the reviewers and cut the sugar down to about 3 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I also added in half a can more of pumpkin and about 1/4 cup of homemade applesauce. It is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrew's Mommy
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Love this! Can't wait to share it with others as gifts. Followed directions exactly, except as others did, swapped out one cup of the white sugar for one cup of br. sugar. It is sweet and full of pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I subbed 1 cup of white sugar with brown sugar, as other reviewers suggested, and I further reduced the white sugar by a cup (so, 2 1/2 cups white, 1 cup brown). I probably used more pumpkin pie spice, using my own blend, so I'd guess I used an extra two teaspoonfuls. Came out really nice - maybe a bit looser than I was expecting, perhaps due to my reducing the sugar, but that's fine. That extra cup of sugar might have made this too sweet for me, so I'm thrilled with my results. Thanks, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Good base flavor, and great concept, but definately way too sweet for my taste. I have shared jars with other people, and they don't mind how sweet it is, so maybe it is just my taste, but I will make it again with a few changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was my first taste of pumpkin butter. I made it for Pumpkin Apple Cobbler from this site. I used fresh pumpkin (roasted at 400 degrees for 35 min, then run through the food processor, then the blender, and strained through cheesecloth), because everyone seems to be out of canned pumpkin. Well worth the time it took, as well as the pumpkin-covered kitchen! Tastes AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teufel Frau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was one was a great recipe! I've made it a few times and typically use the same amount of sugar, but 1/2 white & 1/2 brown for a richer color. By far one of my favorites :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Made this recipe and turned out really well. I made a second batch using other reviewers suggestions; I exchanged a cup of the white sugar with a cup of brown sugar, and added my own spice mixture blend. The second batch was even deeper in color and stronger in spices then the first batch. I will stick to the second method. Also, let this sit and cool overnight. Next moring put the glass pint jars in freezer. Be sure and leave 1/2'' headspace in jar for expansion, Or freeze in plastic containers. Family LOVED this! Thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving gifts. It's WONDERFUL. I used 3 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup Amaretto, which really set off the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States