Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Be careful what kind of pumpkin you use. :) I had extra pumpkins from the garden so I thought I'd use one instead of the commercially canned pumpkin puree specified in this recipe. I then discovered that there is definitely a texture difference between "field" and "pie" pumpkins. (I always thought the difference was all about their relative sizes.) Field pumpkins produce a somewhat stringy, but still tasty pumpkin butter. I made this recipe again with a store-bought pie pumpkin and the butter was very smooth with a richer flavor. (By the way, I'm using the stringy batch in muffins instead of milk and oil and they are delicious--and low fat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GardenGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Great flavor! The texture (so far) is not quite what I was expecting - it's more like thick applesauce instead of the pumpkin butters I've purchased in the past, but I did use 3 1/2 cups of fresh pumpkin puree instead of the can, so maybe that's why. I also used apple cider in place of the juice as other reviewers mentioned. DELICIOUS, wonderfully aromatic and so, so easy to make. I got four small jars out of one recipe - two are gifts and two are mine all mine! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I used fresh pumpkin and simmered it in water for about twenty minutes, then pureed it. Followed the directions after that, and it turned out pretty good. Very nice on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
WOW...that is about all I can say about this recipe. I made a batch to give to a friend because he is obsessed with pumpkin & just tried some on toast. It is soooooo good. I followed the directions exactly as stated; a very simple recipe that I will keep for future use come the fall. Next time I may half the recipe though, as it does make ALOT of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Great recipe. Very easy to make and tastes wonderful. I love that everything goes into one pan and then into your containers and into fridge/freezer. This is very good on bagels with a little cream cheese. Yummy! Great fast gift idea too. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was so easy to make, and pretty inexpensive as well. The taste was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khask

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is a great topping for homemade bread. It's easy to do and tastes like you worked all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYADKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! Makes a great gift also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Homespun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was very good, and quick and easy to make. Put this on the Simple Scones recipe on this site. So very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My family really liked this recipe! The only change I did was I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the spices down a touch. My mom said it needed more spices which means I should have just followed the recipe exactly as is but my Aunt said it tasted fine and that she really liked it. I guess it all just depends on the person!! Great recipe though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States