Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Waaay too much ginger, if you follow the recipe as is. I used 1/2 of what it called for, and I still thought it was too much. Otherwise, the recipe was okay. I don't know if I will try making it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made exactly to directions and this is perfect!!! I woudn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Just as good as applebutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I was not impressed with this at all. I have never had pumpkin butter before, so I guess I dont have anything to compare it too but this was not what I was expecting. It tasted like i put spreadable pumpkin pie on my toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was an absolutely delicious recipe. I made it as a hostess gift for a friend in Ireland, where pumpkin-based desserts are basically unheard of. Once the family got over the shock of what exactly I was giving them, they loved it! I substituted mixed spice (similar to pumpkin pie spice in the US) for some of the individual spices and brown sugar for white. I'll have to try it again some time with the original ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great on breaded and pan-seared pork. Also great on toast for the kiddos! I used fresh pumpkin puree...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was delicious, but the yield was completely off! I followed the original recipe proportions, and ended up with one pint of pumpkin butter. Next time, I will add less ginger, but it's not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
great recipe however I used 3/4 brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I just made this and followed the advice of other reviewers by going with 1 cup apple cider, 1 cup light brown sugar, and 1 tsp ginger. The consistency is nice, sweetness good, but I am finding that the cinnamon flavor is overpowering and almost bitter. I don't know if the flavors will mellow as it cools but tasting it right after cooking while still warm, this is my initial impression. I would prefer to taste more pumpkin with hints of spices...next time I will also use half the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Was a hit with my family when i did this last weekend. Since they were all "pumpkin spread virgins", it was a wonderful pleasant taste experience. We spread it over toast, on a thin spread of butter / margarine, it was over scones too... Very nice. I didn't use the canned pumpkin (couldn't find one at the supermarket) so i used a whole pumpkin, boiled it for about 15 mins, cooled it off, and blend it till smooth. The result is just heavenly and very good for the non sweet-toothers cos the sweetness is balanced. Didn't really follow the exact amount for the spices (cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg) though, half of what was instructed and even then it was quite overpowering. So if you're the mild-spice person, go easy on them. Try a dash, taste. If you want a bit more, add some, taste test again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oodledoodles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States