Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Amazing holiday gift!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KortneyRiley
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Amazing!!! Wonderful flavor!! I used fresh pumpkin and the flavor is divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Yum! This was soooo good!!! Although a little more work than I planned for, I'm glad to have given this a try! Making the pumpkin butter is SUPER easy, but canning it is a little work. The good news is that this makes enough for sharing so I had a ready-made Thanksgiving gift! My neighbors were very happy to receive a festive Kraft bag filled with pumpkin butter and orange scones! NOTE: I used pint size Ball jars for canning (16 oz. each) and was only able to fill two of them. This is supposed to yield five half pint sized jars (40 oz. worth), but I don't see how.... Nonetheless, I'm glad to have stumbled upon this gem. I will be making this again for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Might reduce the amount of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is wonderful!! So easy and people LOVE this! I have been making it and giving little jars of it as gifts. It really does taste like Pumpkin Pie in a jar! Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Tasted like pumpkin pie. I used 3 1/2 cups of fresh homemade pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I cut the sweetness back by half and I used Truvia instead of granulated sugar. (When googling the conversion chart, I got 18 packets to equal 3/4 cup of sugar.) I made no other changes. This was very simple and the end result was absolutely perfect--the smell while cooking was fabulous. I'm glad I cut the sugar by half, I think that if I hadn't, it would have been too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is awesome! And sooo easy to make. Definetly will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Must have on vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made a small batch to keep in the fridge and use w/i a week, so I didn't need to concern myself w/ making it safe for canning. For this purpose I found COOKING IT IN A DOUBLE BOILER reduced the stirring needed and the spluttering. I prefer it much less sweet so I used a little less than half the sugar. I also adjusted the spices to my taste: ground coriander seed instead of nutmeg (very similar taste w/o nutmeg's bitterness), subbed allspice for the major portion of the cloves but did use ~ a quarter of the cloves called for (in my batch that was just a pinch). Personally I like ginger better than cinnamon, so the proportions of those spices suited me just fine. The result is a delicious sub for good jam which is so hard to find these days for a reasonable price. I'm sure fresh baked pumpkin would make it taste better, but that would be impractical for my little household. I'm thinking of making a batch of butternut squash butter in the future by microwaving the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States