Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is fabulous but DON'T can it! It's unsafe to do so. A water bath cannot get the core of the sauce hot enough to be safe to can. Only cubed pumpkin should be canned and only in a pressure canner. If you freeze this it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I made this over the Christmas holiday season and gave some as gifts. I did double the recipe and tweaked the spices to suit my taste. (I used pumpkin pie spice and only a little bit of ginger.) I will definitely make it again. I canned it and gave the jars away to friends. I was told last night by one couple that received one,that the jar was licked clean. That is a sign of a good recipe as far as I am concerned! We put this pumpkin butter on Grandma Johnson's scones. It was delicious. I added this to my personal recipe book tonight.(I loved it enough to hand write it on a recipe card!) Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I wanted to try this because I bought a jar of Pumpkin Pecan Butter at Williams Sanoma and loved it. My husband really loved it and wanted more. I made a double batch of this and we liked it as well as the store-bought kind. We have since made many more jars and are giving them as gifts for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELSEYCR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I just made this recipe to serve with warm bread and give as guest gifts for a huge party I recently had. Not only was it the first to go, but everyone has asked me for the recipe. Everyone absolutely loved it, and I enjoyed making it. Thanks Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I added 1/2 cup brown sugar and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the separate spices, plus a bit less than 1/2 tsp of cloves. So very delicious with vanilla ice cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Waaay too much ginger, if you follow the recipe as is. I used 1/2 of what it called for, and I still thought it was too much. Otherwise, the recipe was okay. I don't know if I will try making it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Wonderful! Used real pumpkin rahter than canned and was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONAMA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is great! I got five 1/2 pints out of my batch. It's like spreadable pumpkin pie, but sweeter! I had added the 1/2 c brown sugar along with the 1 1/2 c white sugar. I'm spreading it on Grandma Johnson's Scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONAMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
The ginger flavor was just too strong for my family's tastes. Although this recipe had a wonderful texture and color, i prefer the simpler versions that use pumpkin pie spice and no apple juice / cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Taste like a pumpkin pie. I had it on toast and it was delicious.Plan to try this on pancakes. I used pumpkin pie spice and it taste good. The only problem I had was removing all the air bubbles. Will not getting all the air bubbles make it go bad? This was the first time I have done this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States