Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is fabulous but DON'T can it! It's unsafe to do so. A water bath cannot get the core of the sauce hot enough to be safe to can. Only cubed pumpkin should be canned and only in a pressure canner. If you freeze this it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I made this over the Christmas holiday season and gave some as gifts. I did double the recipe and tweaked the spices to suit my taste. (I used pumpkin pie spice and only a little bit of ginger.) I will definitely make it again. I canned it and gave the jars away to friends. I was told last night by one couple that received one,that the jar was licked clean. That is a sign of a good recipe as far as I am concerned! We put this pumpkin butter on Grandma Johnson's scones. It was delicious. I added this to my personal recipe book tonight.(I loved it enough to hand write it on a recipe card!) Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I wanted to try this because I bought a jar of Pumpkin Pecan Butter at Williams Sanoma and loved it. My husband really loved it and wanted more. I made a double batch of this and we liked it as well as the store-bought kind. We have since made many more jars and are giving them as gifts for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELSEYCR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I just made this recipe to serve with warm bread and give as guest gifts for a huge party I recently had. Not only was it the first to go, but everyone has asked me for the recipe. Everyone absolutely loved it, and I enjoyed making it. Thanks Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I added 1/2 cup brown sugar and used pumpkin pie spice instead of the separate spices, plus a bit less than 1/2 tsp of cloves. So very delicious with vanilla ice cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Waaay too much ginger, if you follow the recipe as is. I used 1/2 of what it called for, and I still thought it was too much. Otherwise, the recipe was okay. I don't know if I will try making it again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Wonderful! Used real pumpkin rahter than canned and was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONAMA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is great! I got five 1/2 pints out of my batch. It's like spreadable pumpkin pie, but sweeter! I had added the 1/2 c brown sugar along with the 1 1/2 c white sugar. I'm spreading it on Grandma Johnson's Scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONAMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
The ginger flavor was just too strong for my family's tastes. Although this recipe had a wonderful texture and color, i prefer the simpler versions that use pumpkin pie spice and no apple juice / cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Taste like a pumpkin pie. I had it on toast and it was delicious.Plan to try this on pancakes. I used pumpkin pie spice and it taste good. The only problem I had was removing all the air bubbles. Will not getting all the air bubbles make it go bad? This was the first time I have done this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States