Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I made this over the Christmas holiday season and gave some as gifts. I did double the recipe and tweaked the spices to suit my taste. (I used pumpkin pie spice and only a little bit of ginger.) I will definitely make it again. I canned it and gave the jars away to friends. I was told last night by one couple that received one,that the jar was licked clean. That is a sign of a good recipe as far as I am concerned! We put this pumpkin butter on Grandma Johnson's scones. It was delicious. I added this to my personal recipe book tonight.(I loved it enough to hand write it on a recipe card!) Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
The ginger flavor was just too strong for my family's tastes. Although this recipe had a wonderful texture and color, i prefer the simpler versions that use pumpkin pie spice and no apple juice / cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I wanted to try this because I bought a jar of Pumpkin Pecan Butter at Williams Sanoma and loved it. My husband really loved it and wanted more. I made a double batch of this and we liked it as well as the store-bought kind. We have since made many more jars and are giving them as gifts for the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELSEYCR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Delicious and worth the work. I did not have apple juice on hand, so I used apple cider instead. The butter has a rich spicy flavor. I doubled the recipe, but it only made 7 half pints and 1 quarter pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Very good, but I would cut back on the spices a little bit so that the pumpkin flavor would come through more. This was so easy and inexpensive. Great to give as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This is an awesome recipe! Just like Pumpkin Pie! I got a little more then 5 1/2 pint jars. I will definately make this recipe and can to give as gifts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
When I read this recipe I wondered why it uses 1/3 the sugar of other recipes for pumpkin butter. It is not very sweet and if you are looking for a sweet spread, this is not it. However, the pumpkin taste is good and I like spreads that are not extremely sweet. I think I will experiment a bit with more sugar, when I make it for a church boutique, but this is nice and I will certainly use what I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I just made this recipe to serve with warm bread and give as guest gifts for a huge party I recently had. Not only was it the first to go, but everyone has asked me for the recipe. Everyone absolutely loved it, and I enjoyed making it. Thanks Eleanor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
This pumpkin butter is good, but I'm looking for something that tastes a little more like pumpkin pie. Maybe tweaking the amounts of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg would do it. Thanks for the recipe, though, I enjoyed making it. It was quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
Made this for the first time over Labor Day weekend. I made it a little harder on myself because I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned. I wouldn't recommend using fresh pumpkin unless you have free pumpkins sitting in your kitchen floor like I did. Didn't get to actually try it myself until last weekend (first time we were back home since Labor Day weekend). By then the number of jars I had was disappearing fast due to my daughter giving it away. Got rave reviews from all recipients so tried it my self while home last weekend. It is delicious and I plan on making another batch or two before Christmas. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States