Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I LOVED this recipe and it brought back so many memories from home in Pennsylvania. I would reccomend though HALF as many cloves-especially if you aren't a fan in the first place. You could compensate with nutmeg, but that's my preference. It will also keep in the fridge for over two months, as I keep mine in tupperware-I'm the only one who eats it. I guess its lost on my English housemates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Need to cut back on the spices, like maybe half. Then add more as needed. Same with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is awesome just like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Thank you for this recipe. I made ALOT (48 jars) for a baby shower for my best friend, which was theamed Lil Pumpkin. I printed out some recipies that used the pumpkin butter and attatched them with ribbon to the jars. It was a big hit. Now I am going to make some for myself! The only reason I am giving it a 4 is because it is quite a bit of work, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Excellent for all pumpkin lovers! If you make it with fresh pumpkin like I did, you may have to simmer it a lot longer in order to get it thick enough. Regular pumpkin pie spice works great if you don't have all the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I actually have a question about this recipe...hope someone can help! The canning safety questions alarmed me a bit. But should I make this recipe and freeze my jars, then it should be fine? When I go to use, would I just thaw it in the refrigerator?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this recipe with a small class of young chefs (5-11 yr olds). We followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. In class we mashed our mixture with forks, if at home I would have used my food processor to blend more evenly. We put our pumpkin butter in baby food jars to enjoy at home. It is an easy recipe and turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is fabulous but DON'T can it! It's unsafe to do so. A water bath cannot get the core of the sauce hot enough to be safe to can. Only cubed pumpkin should be canned and only in a pressure canner. If you freeze this it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Is pumpkin butter safe to can? I have found evidence that you should freeze or refrigerate. I do want to try this recipe but will give it as gifts to put in the fridge. UPATE: This freezes very nicely! I loved making it. I put it in the crock pot on low for about 6 hours. It made the house smell lover-ly. I used the Ball brand freezer containers (1/2 pint) and can't wait for the gift giving season. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Absolutely love this recipe. It's the best I've ever had. Really easy to make. My family is raving about this pumpkin butter. This will make an awesome Christmas Gift for friends and family. Muy Bueno!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States