Pumpkin Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Just as good as applebutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I was not impressed with this at all. I have never had pumpkin butter before, so I guess I dont have anything to compare it too but this was not what I was expecting. It tasted like i put spreadable pumpkin pie on my toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was an absolutely delicious recipe. I made it as a hostess gift for a friend in Ireland, where pumpkin-based desserts are basically unheard of. Once the family got over the shock of what exactly I was giving them, they loved it! I substituted mixed spice (similar to pumpkin pie spice in the US) for some of the individual spices and brown sugar for white. I'll have to try it again some time with the original ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great on breaded and pan-seared pork. Also great on toast for the kiddos! I used fresh pumpkin puree...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was delicious, but the yield was completely off! I followed the original recipe proportions, and ended up with one pint of pumpkin butter. Next time, I will add less ginger, but it's not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
great recipe however I used 3/4 brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I just made this and followed the advice of other reviewers by going with 1 cup apple cider, 1 cup light brown sugar, and 1 tsp ginger. The consistency is nice, sweetness good, but I am finding that the cinnamon flavor is overpowering and almost bitter. I don't know if the flavors will mellow as it cools but tasting it right after cooking while still warm, this is my initial impression. I would prefer to taste more pumpkin with hints of spices...next time I will also use half the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Was a hit with my family when i did this last weekend. Since they were all "pumpkin spread virgins", it was a wonderful pleasant taste experience. We spread it over toast, on a thin spread of butter / margarine, it was over scones too... Very nice. I didn't use the canned pumpkin (couldn't find one at the supermarket) so i used a whole pumpkin, boiled it for about 15 mins, cooled it off, and blend it till smooth. The result is just heavenly and very good for the non sweet-toothers cos the sweetness is balanced. Didn't really follow the exact amount for the spices (cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg) though, half of what was instructed and even then it was quite overpowering. So if you're the mild-spice person, go easy on them. Try a dash, taste. If you want a bit more, add some, taste test again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oodledoodles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
It was my first time this year making this and it was awesome! Very easy to make and must try. Cooking it takes a bit of time and you need to be careful because even at simmer, the pumpkin butter boils quite heavily. Easy to make, great on toast in the morning with your coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeterthanhoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
5 stars for the flavor but man, how do you bring a solid mass to a boil? My pumpkin puree was very very thick so I added about another 1/2 cup of apple juice. Still so thick there was no "boiling" it. I let it heat on the stove about 15 minutes and then put into jars. It tastes just like pumpkin pie filling to me and very yummy on warm biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States