Pumpkin Butter Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe is absolutely Fabulous. Although we ran out of confectioners. We only had 2 cups of confectioners sugar (16 oz) and added one cup of regular sugar. Anywho, I would stick with just 2 cups of confectioners sugar (unless you like super sweet desserts). I love, love, love it. I will be using it for a dinner party on Monday. Thanks so much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Great recipe. I decreased sugar to 3 cups, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This has just become our new Thanksgivng "Pumpkin Pie", Everyone just loved it. Bake it just as the recipe states or it will be over done. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a wonderful cake, easy and loved by kids and adults. I only used 3 cups powdered sugar as suggested by other reviews and topped each piece with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good,a nice change from pumpkin pie.My family loved it.The crust is exceptional.This is going to be a holiday regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Unfortunately I burned the crust that the other reviewers raved about...don't make the same mistake that I did and use flimsy silicone bakeware! The flavor of the pumpkin was good; it tasted pretty similar to pumpkin pie with a little cream cheese mixed in. Next time I think I'll use crushed gingersnaps for the crust, instead, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I may have done something wrong somewhere, but I don't think so. It seems a little wrong to me and I think it's the recipe. The texture of the top is thinner than I imagined. It's almost like a pudding on top of a heavy cake. I had imagined more of a cheese cake or at least pumkin pie. I used all 4 cups of sugar because it seemed like such a runny batter. I have a raging sweet tooth. I mean, I can eat spoons ful of sugar right out of the bowl and enjoy it. So I can't believe I'm writing this, but it's a bit too sweet. And the wang from the cheese is just not there. Pure pumpkiny sweetness. It tastes intense, but makes you feel kind of yucky. After eating a piece of this, I feel like I've just binged out on a whole can of Duncan Hines frosting. Not that I've ever done that . . . So anyway, I think it's an ok recipe. It just wasn't what I had in mind. I think if you're a good baker you might want to tweak the top part to get it a little thicker. Maybe more cream cheese. And you might want a little less sugar like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! I made it for a small gathering at church, and they absolutely loved it! I ran out of confectioner's sugar, so used 1 cup less than called for, but it still tasted great! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe is almost the same Paula Dean's Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cakes, which I have made for a couple of years. Let me tell you, I am a huge pumpkin lover, and once I began making these, my family insists that I bring them to every Thanksgiving and Christmas instead of regular pumpkin pie. They are so good. Everyone I have made them for absolutely loves them, they are a staple now at holiday parties and get togethers. You just have to be sure not to cook to long, or the crust will be overdone. The pumpkin part is really so yummy and gooey and the yellow cake mix compliments it perfectly. YUM! Oh, you can also make this a pineapple, banana, or peanut butter insteas of pumpkin. For pineapple, substitute a 20 ounce can of drained crush pineapple for the pumpkin. For Banana, sub. 2 ripe bananas instead of pumpkin. For peanut butter, use chocolate cake mix instead of yellow and substitute 1 cup creamy peanut butter instead of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I've been making it for a few years and it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States