Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was so simple!!! I just put it in the crockpot. Set my crockpot for 8 hours and left it to cook. This is my first trial at pumpkin butter. I canned it in little jars. The recipe yielded 8 of the small jars (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was a very easy pumpkin butter (after the pumpkin was cut up) recipe, but the spices were too much. It's almost bitter and I think that it's because of the clove. When I try this again, I will cut down on the spices. Also, it would be nice to know WHAT exactly is a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
So wonderful! I made quite a few batches. When it came to make the pies I did have to add just a bit more sugar but a wonderful way to preserve your pumpkin! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Wonderful flavor! I had already baked and scraped my pumpkin before reading this recipe, so the pumpkin I put in the crock pot wasn't raw and in chunks. That's why I only left it to slow cook for 4 hours. It came out thick and just sweet enough! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Great way to make pumpkin butter. I will adjust the seasonings next time to our taste, but otherwise it turned out perfect. After sone research I found that you can can this in a hot water bath. Process quarts 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very easy once the pumpkin was prepared...I do agree the cloves are too much...definitely only use half...also added more sugar too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Delicious! I used 1-2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, instead of cloves and allspice seasonings. My first time making pumpkin butter and using a fresh pumpkin! This was so yummy! I had baked my pumpkin before coming across this recipe. So, I slow cooked for abour 4 hours on low, then used the immersion blender to make it smooth. Extremely easy and made the house smell good! I did use brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon. I just eyeballed the spices and tasted if it needed more. Remember to use a little bit of spices at a time, you can always add more if it needs it. We used it on homemade biscuits, in oatmeal, on french toast too. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used 2 tsp of cloves instead of the 1 Tbsp it called for, and it was still way too much. It needs a pinch of salt, another cup of sugar, preferably brown, and a little less cinnamon. This coming from someone who always adds more spices to things, and this was too much. However, the texture was fantastic. The recipe just needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel H Gudenzi
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Super easy, made the house smell wonderful and came out tasting delicious. I made so much that after making pumpkin bread and giving away a small jar, I still have a pint in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel H Gudenzi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Awesome & so easy. Has anyone packed & processed this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegsrecipes
Home Town: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States