Pumpkin Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Many thanks for this lovely recipe! Prior to whisking egg yolks with the sugars and spices, be sure to remove the 2 'strings' from each yolk or add step of straining it before pouring into ramekins. The hot cream should be added, about, 1 TB. at a time so yolks won't curdle. Lastly: a bain marie (water bath) is necessary for a creamy texture so, ramekins should be placed in a 1-1/2 inch deep baking dish, placed on oven rack and hot water poured into dish to a depth of 1/3 the ramekin. Be sure to check at 13 mins. - a knife inserted, about, 1/4" from center of ramekin should come out clean and this means it's done as they will continue to cook once removed from the oven. This recipe is, also, nice with the ramekins coated with caramelized sugar and served as creme caramel which is how I did it since my torch isn't usable. I topped with a TBsp. of whipped, unsweetened, heavy cream (the more cream, bacon or butter in a receipe - the better!). Plan to serve in the small squash shells for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is excellent, I followed the recipe, no changes needed! I love the idea of presenting this in small pumpkins, I'll try this in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Incredibly delicous! I poured it into baked sugar pumpkins so cute and yummy! I gave some to my meanest teacher it made her sweet! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I just tried these and they came out perfect the first time, rarely do recipes go well the first time but this one did. I didn't have any cloves so I just doubled up on the cinnamon (I am a cinnamon fiend anyways). They were not really set after 15 minutes so I baked them for 10 extra minutes and it turned out great. Excellent recipe!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanafuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I don't think I did anything wrong, but I had to bake these for about 30 minutes. They tasted okay, but not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Heart, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very nice recipe. I used the hot water bath and the texture was great. I like to top with brown sugar rather then white sugar, but I otherwise followed the recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made the recipe for a cooking contest at work where we had to use pumpkin as a main ingredient. I did place 3rd and I didn't adjust the recipe at all. I love Creme Brulee it's my favorite desert. That being said the pumpkin taste was different, almost lacking some sort of spice. But it was good, just not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This makes a great Thanksgiving dessert - not the same old pumpkin pie. Only issue that I had: it took me about twice as long as stated in the recipe to get the brulee to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is rich, creamy, and pumpkiny. Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Delicious and makes an excellent presentation - great for special guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States