Pumpkin Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made these into a dozen cupcakes, layering the two batters and swirling with a toothpick. They only needed about 25 minutes of bake time. They were very tasty! As others suggested, I cut back on the clove to 1/4 teaspoon. Next time I'd leave it out, as I didn't think it paired well with the chocolate. I also used half whole wheat flour to add a bit of whole grain. Next time I may cut down the butter to 1/2C as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
worked great with GF flour. Be aware though that even though the recipe says to split the batter in half so that half becomes the pumpkin layer and half the chocolate brownie layer, the 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin boosts the quantity of the pumpkin layer. So if you would like to make only two layers or put the pumpkin layer in the middle, remember to use slightly less batter for the pumpkin layer. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I doubled the recipe for my 13x9 pan, which made it easier to split by just making two separate base batter batches. I topped them with a sweetened ricotta frosting, then melted down some semi sweet chocolate chips with Grand Marnier and spread it over the top. Absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Wahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Though instead of layering twice, I only did once for each, putting the chocolate on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious brownies! Very moist because of the pumpkin. Yet so chocolaty! Everyone around loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
So delicious! Nice amount of spice. I followed the recipe as it's written and I will make these again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
They were tasty, but these were too cakey for me. I like my brownies gooey. They were moist, though and the chocolate pumpkin combination was interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Pretty Good. I actually used the brownie recipe for "Best Brownies" on this site (because I always have great luck with it and we LOVE it). Also, after reading the reviews, a lot of people mentioned they had difficulty swirling the two batters together and I didn't have any trouble doing this with the Best Brownie batter. I doubled the ingredients, except for the cocoa. Added 1/2 c. of pumpkin puree to the half of the batter that did not have the cocoa in it and pumpkin pie spice. Swirled together in the pan. Turned out well. I believe this is a 5 star recipe for those who love pumpkin and chocolate together. I gave 4 stars because we didn't absolutely "love" the combo. However, this is a nice, moist brownie with a pumpkin flavour, if you don't "over-swirl" your two batters together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
These were superb! I didn't get the marbling effect, but I think that was my fault with the layering. Also, the ground cloves were a little too much for me, so the second time I made these, I cut them in half and it was soooooooo good. Also, make sure to COMPLETELY cool before eating--that makes them so much more moist. Anyway, 5 stars, easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Well when I returned home they had disappeared so I'm assuming I'll make them again? In a house with 4 male mouths under 15...that's a good sign :) Have to admit that I was lazy and just mixed everything together at once in my KitchenAid. I do agree about being a little greasy but otherwise I have no complaints. My pan was smaller than recommended so I'm assuming that's why they came out a little more moist than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States