Pumpkin Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Spencer!!!
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Definitely a great recipe! Slight changes needed; less butter, more cinnamon and all-spice. The cooking time needs to be checked though, because I used the oven at 400 F for 20 minutes but then when I turned the temp down, I needed to time it at 35 - 40 minutes. But still an awesome dish to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer!!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I tried this recipe earlier this week. I was so excited to find a recipe to use the last of a can of pumpkin left over from another recipe. The dough was very wet to work with. It was much more manageable after the refrigeration. I baked as directed, but it was not done in the center. The edges were cooked beautifully and had a great flavor. I will definitely make this again. I think next time, I am going to divide into 16 balls and use two loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
The dough came out with an almost bitter taste, and the texture was no where near "luxuriant." It just had the same texture as regular quick bread. Quite a let down. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by november_fairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe did not work for me at all. I usually use the pumpkin brioche recipe from "Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day," but since it was going to be used for Xmas gifts, I didn't want to make them whole grain. This acts as a batter bread...but it just does not set up. In fact, I used some of the dough to make croissants and they basically melted in the oven. the flavor was good (in the bit that was edible, but I won't be using this recipe again:( I am an avid bread maker (and have made brioche a few times, specifically,) but I just couldn't make this recipe work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this and it was a disaster! I had fun cutting the entire cup of butter into small minced pieces... Needless to say I didn't "incorporate" the butter, so I had this odd-looking dough that looked like it had butter chips in it, it ended up never baking in the middle- just a puddle of butter. Granted, the edges that did bake were wonderful and I made sure to eat those! The butter that spilled out of the pan while baking made a huge mess in my oven. Ha ha...I will try this again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My daughter loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This bread was so incredible. I used my breadmachine and layered in ingredients in wet first, dry second order. Put it on a dough setting. Once machine was done I floured up my hands and formed it into 2 loaves and let rise again for 20 minutes. Then baked off as directed. Turned out so fantastic. It is very rich and buttery - not for the calorie faint at heart. I used it on Christmas day for breakfast and my husband has requested it be our new annual tradition. I used it to make into french toast on second day and it was an out of body experience it was so darned good. Worth every minute you put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Buzz Group Recipe for the week of 11/1. This dough gave me a bit of trouble but it did eventually firm up in the refrigerator. I fit all 8 balls into a 9x5 but I had to really squeeze them. My main issues are 2: #1 The center of the dough was not done after the first baking. I cut it and the first slice was ok, the next slice had a doughy unbaked section and I could see further in that the situation was worse, so I have it back in the oven now. My rating for flavor is based on the 1st slice, so my issue #2 is that I don't like the taste of this. The problem might be the allspice, or the lack of sugar, or a combination thereof. My husband likes this just fine, so overall I'm going to give it a 4 and try it again later after it cools, as Sarah-May said she liked the texture better then, so maybe. This is our first time making OR eating brioche and that is also probably a huge factor here. This bread loaf bakes up to a beautiful, professional appearance. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
this bread is a very light, slightly pumkin flavoured mound of goodness. It is very sticky before you chill it, and I forgot about the pan sitting in the oven on the final rise. So it may have risen for 2-3 hours before it was baked. It would be wondrful made up into cinnamon rolls with raisins, or pecan rolls. A little time consuming but well worth the effort. I am enjoying some now with cream cheese. I got 9 rolls so I used a 9X13 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This dough was very wet but did end up fine. I really disliked the texture of these warm but once they were cool they were delicious, I doubled the cinnamon and used a touch more sugar as I was wanting a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States