Pumpkin Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I knew that when I saw Cooks4forty post this recipe over on the exchange that I was not going to be able to wait until fall to try it. I'm so glad I didn't! This was excellent! It's a great change from the standard breakfast casserole. The spices were great and it wasn't overly sweet. 45 minutes was just the right time to bake it. I can't wait to make this again and I'm sure it'll become a standard during the holidays. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this for Christmas breakfast and it was awesome!! I followed some suggestions in other reviews by using 1 cup brown sugar in place of the white sugar, 2 tsp of vanilla and used about 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I also used a good honey whole wheat bread and sprinkled the top with the pecans and some cinnamon/sugar. Served with powdered sugar on top. This will definately be made again, and again, and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Ok so I hate when people grandstand and blab about how they have managed to make these recipes outstanding, but I read all the reviews and several people thought this was bland and it kinda is. But I did change the recipe and I love my new one, just switch to pumpkin pie filling, and add a cup of brown suger. Bake as directed and drizzle with maple syrup. this alteration makes a wonderful sweet variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Made this for Christmas morning and it was a hit. Any pumpkin pie lover will go crazy for it. I did use french bread which I think makes it more special. I sprinkled the nuts over the top of the dish before baking it which toasted them nicely. It was even better the next morning warmed up! Some people may want to bump up the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I took this to Life Group at Church, and Everyone just loved it. I used 7 eggs, 2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 cup of Brown sugar and not pecans (not a fan of them)...When it was done I topped it off with a little lite sryup drizzled over it with a lil sprinkle of powder sugar, I have to say it tasted like Pumpkin pie French Toast . Will be making this agian.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We ran out of evaporated milk so I substituted 1 can of condensed milk instead (and omitted adding any further sugar)....more spices as others have suggested...and voilà! Quite good...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I think that I was expecting too much from this recipe. I was not very impressed with either the taste or the consistency, and I am a HUGE pumpkin fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I rated this before it was published, and copied that review! Reviewed on Nov. 23, 2009 I used whole wheat bread, and replaced the sugar with agave syrup. It smelled and tasted so good! .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Just made this, and served it, at a fall breakfast at the beach...it was a big hit ! Used basic recipe, but doubled all spices and vanilla, changed white sugar to brown sugar, and added 3 more cubed bread slices. Thanks for the recipe, I have a feeling it will be used over and over again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Loved it! Doubled the vanilla and ginger and used heaping tsp. of cinnamon. Great breakfast option if you want to just slide something in the oven and have an easy morning. Plus you get the bonus of having a bit of orange vegetable in your first meal of the day! I baked mine for about 55 minutes, a little longer than the recipe recommends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States