Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Wow! Delicious! This recipe was easy to make into a healthy recipe! I used applesause instead oil, whole wheat instead of white for 3 cups of the flour & ground flax meal for the other 1/2 cup flour. Substituted Raptura all natural cane sugar for half the sugar and added chopped raisens and dates for the other half of the sugar, plus I added 1-1/2 cups chopped walnuts and a small package of crystalized ginger/chopped. Whole, hearty, pumkiny, still moist and GOOD FOR YOU TOO!!! :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!! It has always come out perfect and my family devours it!! I bought a 3-pk of aluminum loaf pans (8" X 3 7/8") and filled them 3/4 of the way. It leaves a bit extra to make a few muffins with as well. I have tried variations also, which seem to work BEST. 2 cups wheat flour and 1 1/2 all purp. flour, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar with 1 1/2 cups white sugar, and 1 cup of Apple sauce in place of the oil. This made it a bit healthier and not as "wheaty" as if I used all whole wheat flour. Still, this recipe is always moist!! ALSO, I have tried this SAME recipe (with the variations) and replaced the pumpkin with about 5 smashed bananas (2 cups) and added nuts. IT comes out perfect as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Yulee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was spectacular. I am definately going to make this again & I may try some of the variations that others have suggested as well. I am especially intrigued at the thought of replacing the oil with some apple sauce. I would also like to see what it would be like with a nice mix of raisins & a few chocolate chips added in. This is a very moist cake & as each oven varies I reccomend that you start checking on the loaf at around 55 mins. Cover with foil after 55 mins as it can take an additional 20 mins or so & the foil will help prevent too much crisping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
GREAT recipe! WHOLE WHEAT IDEA - I changed the 3.5 cups flour to 3 cups of whole wheat flour and cut the cooking time to 75 minutes and it was fabulous. So rich and hearty but moist and full of flavor. The first loaf was devoured in a day and the second one is being fought over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This turned out really well! I made some changes as per the other reviews, however. I wanted it to be really pumpkin-y, so I didn't put vanilla in, even though I was tempted to (another reviewer said it cut the pumpkin flavor). Also, I put in two 15 oz cans of pumpkin, which equaled exactly the amount of pumpkin called for AND the amount of water called for (skipped adding water). I also replaced one cup white sugar with packed brown sugar, since I wanted that richer/deeper flavor. Once it was done I tried a piece still warm from the oven and it was great. Froze it, tried it again after it thawed, and it was better! You could taste a bit more pumpkin afterward and it was still very moist. I followed the baking time others recommended here: Checked at 50 minutes (toothpick came out goopy, but the tops were browned perfectly). Lightly covered the tops with foil and baked for another 10–15 minutes. Done! I'll definitely make this again. I'm a chocoholic and usually can't help throwing some chips in, but another reviewer said it overpowers the pumpkin. I'm glad I left them out because this is sweet and delicious as it is. But I'm sure it'd taste great with a Nutella spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This recipe was great. I also substituted 1c of brown sugar, added a splash of vanilla and dusted it with confectioners sugar when done baking! Only baked about 65 min and placed a cake pan 1/2 full of water on rack below bread while baking to keep outside nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
AWESOME - my family and friends love when I bake this for the Holidays. I DO NOT change a thing I love it just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe is FABULOUS! I have made it multiple times and it is always a huge hit by everyone, even non-pumpkin lovers. I just made it tonight and used 1 cup vanilla yogurt in place of 1 cup oil and it is amazing. By using the substitue I saved over 1000 calories in the loaf. I also added chopped walnuts for a little nutty taste and texture. No matter how you do it this recipe is a winner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I love fall and this is a wonderful fall treat... I halved the batch for one loaf as I had just some left over pumpkin from making a pumpkin dip (which was also yummy). I used 1 cup reg sugar and half cup brown sugar. Rather than adding a third cup water I just added some extra pumpkin. I also added finely chopped walnuts to the top. I baked for about 70 min and i have to say it is delicious. I have literally eaten about 5 slices myself. I was willing to forgo dinner for more bread yum:) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
This is a great pumpkin bread recipe. I made two loaves, one eaten out of the oven and the other was frozen and eaten later. Both loaves were delicious and the loaf that had been frozen retained all of its moistness and freshness after being thawed. As the recipe submitter stated, this recipe is great for freezing the loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States