Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought that the bread itself, was excellent. It was perfectly moist and a little crispy on the outside which gave it an amazing texture. The spices chosen with the type of ingredients were okay and they tasted great in the final product; I would suggest adding and tad bit more of all of them just to give it a little more flavor. I also used canned pumpkin instead of freshly picked and pureed, I'm sure it is much better with organic or fresh pumpkin but all in all its much like a spice bread or a spice cake. I will definately be making this for the holidays and maybe just for a snack. My favorite use of this is for breakfast cause its better than a donut!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smartcookie03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
1st time made according to directions and baked in loaf pans. Very dense and moist, great spice flavor. for the 2nd time, I fiddled and used 1 cup sugar, 1 cup splenda and about 1/2 cup agave. I also used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. Then cooked in muffin tins. The texture was a bit lighter, but still really good. I'm also working on adding a cheesecake factor by adding a swirl of cream cheese, egg sugar and vanilla. Still work left to do to figure out how to make that work the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made this to use up some fresh pumpkin I roasted, pureed, and froze in the fall. Because I wanted to use as much of the 15+ bags of pumpkin taking up my freezer space, I decided to use pumpkin for the oil and the water. I used a total of 4 c of fresh pumpkin puree (the equivalent of 2 regular size cans). It turned out beautifully! I made 1 loaf, and the rest into muffins (I made 12 regular muffins, and I mixed about 1/4 chocolate chips into the remaining batter and got another 6 muffins for a total of 18). On the plain muffins and the loaf, I sprinkled some cinnamon and sugar on the tops before baking. Oh, I also used all whole wheat flour. All the moisture from the pumpkin covered up the "chewiness" that can sometimes present itself in quick breads using 100% whole wheat flour. We ate the loaf with in a couple days, and I froze the muffins to be taken out the night before. Both were very good, and we both seem to like the "day old" better than the fresh (the frozen muffins are included in the "day old"). The cinnamon and sugar kind of melted into a nice sweet cinnamon-y moist glaze. I think that most of the remaining pumpkin will be turned into more loaves of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Thank you for sharing this recipe! My husband LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This turned out just perfectly. It was light and fluffy, moist, and flavorful. I made it before the holidays to make plates of this and cranberry nut bread. My neighbors really enjoyed it and it really added something to the holiday spirit. I find that pumpkin bread left in the fridge tastes better than that left out. And as a child I used to eat leftovers with cream cheese for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipie is to die for. The secret is NOT overbaking the bread. If you want perfection then make sure it is as moist as possible. I substituted brown sugar for white and also added raisins and walnuts. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cisowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I just loved it. I couldn't keep my husband away from it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Rrrreally GOOD ! I didn't have oil and gambled with apple sauce. Beautiful loaves ! Soooo good I've already shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This reciepe came out so good, but instead of doing bread I made cup cakes an it made alot an they were very good also...My friends sure do like them....I got alot of praise on them...Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Tripi Zeien
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very moist, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States