Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Okay-It was good. I use 5 mini loaves. I thought that the allspice was too much. I like more of the pumpkin pie or pumpkin bars seasoning. Everyone really enjoyed it the way it is (but I did sub 1/2 applesauce for oil). I felt like it wasn't done inside but was almost burning outside. But it was really moist and that's what everyone really loved about it. I made it a second time but this time omitting the allspice, doubling the cinnamon and adding 1/2 tsp ginger. I also went all applesauce (we need to be more healthy at our house-sad hmmmm). I did add walnuts and raisens to this batch (first were all plain). I did add a little butter-but butter is good-I made almost a crumb topping by mixing up oats, b sugar, cinnamon and cutting in butter and then sprinkled on top. I turned down the oven to 315-320ish and left them in for 45 min (mini loaves). I did leave them cool in the pans for 10 min or so. Mmmmmm. It was almost cake like. I think next time I would add a dash of salt to the topping and maybe try the 1/2 ap and 1/2 oil. This is a great base to build your own custom bread. Thank you so much for giving me something fun to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe. I am making and selling at a craft fair in a few weeks. Moist and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLENDAPALMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Added a bit of vanilla, a bag of dried cranberries and a cup of walnuts...YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by An'e

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My 2 daughters love this pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Simple and tasty. A great standard pumpkin bread. My 2 year old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe was really good! I added a cup and half of pecans to mine. I baked the full 90 min, and it was a little dry but not bad. Next time i'll only bake about 80 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was really good, all I changed was I also used applesauce instead of oil and used 1 TBSP of cinnamon 2 tsps of nutmeg, then whipped the eggs and sugar together intill they were white peaks mixed in the applesauce then the pumpkin and dry ingrediants, used apple juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Decided to try a new pumpkin bread recipe. This was a super moist and flavorful bread! I made a few substitutions. To cut back on the sweetness, I used 1 c. white sugar, 1 c. brown sugar, and 1/2 c. sugar/splenda blend. To me, this provided the perfect amount of sweetness. I also used milk instead of water. The bread rose pretty high compared to most other quick breads I have made. Will definitely use this as my regular pumpkin bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This turned out very well. I did sub 1 cup brown sugar, cover with foil after 50 min to prevent overbrowning., and add a splash of vanilla. It froze beautifully. **Update** Just made this again and took a loaf (frozen, then thawed) to work. Comments from my co-workers emails to me included: "The pumpking bread is DIVINE!" (She asked for the recipe.) "Your pumpkin bread is amazing!" and my favorite, "That is the tastiest bread-substance I have ever had. And I am not prone to culinary hyperbole. Thank you!" So yeah...this is an awesome recipe! This time around the only thing I did differently, besides subbing 1 cup of brown sugar and covering it after 50 minutes, was pureeing my own pumpkins. Thanks again for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jbphillips10
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe. I'm not too adventurous. I did, however, use milk instead of water. I also didn't keep it in for the full 90 minutes. More like 60. Came out very nicely. I definitely surprised myself. I added my picture to the gallery also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States