Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very good and moist recipe, but I changed it up a little based on the previous reviews. I used 2 cups Whole Wheat Flour and 1 cup white; split the sugar into 1/2 brown and 1/2 white; used 1 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt in place of the oil; increased the amount of spice; baked for 45 minutes - covered with tinfoil then baked another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is a good recipe, although I think my Grandmothers is better. The spices aren't strong enough for our liking and it's not quite as moist as we like. I added pecans and like other reviewers, I split the sugars into half white and half brown. If you are going to make this....make sure to watch the cooking time. I set my timer to 60 minutes (instead of the recommended 90) and it was overcooked by about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe is FABULOUS! I have made it multiple times and it is always a huge hit by everyone, even non-pumpkin lovers. I just made it tonight and used 1 cup vanilla yogurt in place of 1 cup oil and it is amazing. By using the substitue I saved over 1000 calories in the loaf. I also added chopped walnuts for a little nutty taste and texture. No matter how you do it this recipe is a winner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
EXCELLENT. Moist and not too sweet. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was my first attempt to make homemade pumpkin bread and it was awesome! I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose. I also did not have allspice or cloves so I used ginger instead. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Yum! have been asked for this recipe a few times. I do add a little extra spice and some nuts and raisins to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Awesome, but I did modify it. I used applesauce instead of oil, used brown sugar for the white, substituted more pumpkin for the 2/3cup water and added walnuts. It did not last long, well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Great tasting bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!! It has always come out perfect and my family devours it!! I bought a 3-pk of aluminum loaf pans (8" X 3 7/8") and filled them 3/4 of the way. It leaves a bit extra to make a few muffins with as well. I have tried variations also, which seem to work BEST. 2 cups wheat flour and 1 1/2 all purp. flour, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar with 1 1/2 cups white sugar, and 1 cup of Apple sauce in place of the oil. This made it a bit healthier and not as "wheaty" as if I used all whole wheat flour. Still, this recipe is always moist!! ALSO, I have tried this SAME recipe (with the variations) and replaced the pumpkin with about 5 smashed bananas (2 cups) and added nuts. IT comes out perfect as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Yulee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was better after it had been frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States