Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Such a great texture, and subtle spices--everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Very good and moist recipe, but I changed it up a little based on the previous reviews. I used 2 cups Whole Wheat Flour and 1 cup white; split the sugar into 1/2 brown and 1/2 white; used 1 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt in place of the oil; increased the amount of spice; baked for 45 minutes - covered with tinfoil then baked another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is a good recipe, although I think my Grandmothers is better. The spices aren't strong enough for our liking and it's not quite as moist as we like. I added pecans and like other reviewers, I split the sugars into half white and half brown. If you are going to make this....make sure to watch the cooking time. I set my timer to 60 minutes (instead of the recommended 90) and it was overcooked by about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This recipe is FABULOUS! I have made it multiple times and it is always a huge hit by everyone, even non-pumpkin lovers. I just made it tonight and used 1 cup vanilla yogurt in place of 1 cup oil and it is amazing. By using the substitue I saved over 1000 calories in the loaf. I also added chopped walnuts for a little nutty taste and texture. No matter how you do it this recipe is a winner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
EXCELLENT. Moist and not too sweet. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was my first attempt to make homemade pumpkin bread and it was awesome! I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose. I also did not have allspice or cloves so I used ginger instead. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Yum! have been asked for this recipe a few times. I do add a little extra spice and some nuts and raisins to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Awesome, but I did modify it. I used applesauce instead of oil, used brown sugar for the white, substituted more pumpkin for the 2/3cup water and added walnuts. It did not last long, well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Great tasting bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!! It has always come out perfect and my family devours it!! I bought a 3-pk of aluminum loaf pans (8" X 3 7/8") and filled them 3/4 of the way. It leaves a bit extra to make a few muffins with as well. I have tried variations also, which seem to work BEST. 2 cups wheat flour and 1 1/2 all purp. flour, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar with 1 1/2 cups white sugar, and 1 cup of Apple sauce in place of the oil. This made it a bit healthier and not as "wheaty" as if I used all whole wheat flour. Still, this recipe is always moist!! ALSO, I have tried this SAME recipe (with the variations) and replaced the pumpkin with about 5 smashed bananas (2 cups) and added nuts. IT comes out perfect as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Yulee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States