Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This turned out very well. I did sub 1 cup brown sugar, cover with foil after 50 min to prevent overbrowning., and add a splash of vanilla. It froze beautifully. **Update** Just made this again and took a loaf (frozen, then thawed) to work. Comments from my co-workers emails to me included: "The pumpking bread is DIVINE!" (She asked for the recipe.) "Your pumpkin bread is amazing!" and my favorite, "That is the tastiest bread-substance I have ever had. And I am not prone to culinary hyperbole. Thank you!" So yeah...this is an awesome recipe! This time around the only thing I did differently, besides subbing 1 cup of brown sugar and covering it after 50 minutes, was pureeing my own pumpkins. Thanks again for this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jbphillips10
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe. I'm not too adventurous. I did, however, use milk instead of water. I also didn't keep it in for the full 90 minutes. More like 60. Came out very nicely. I definitely surprised myself. I added my picture to the gallery also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! Very easy to make. I baked for 50 min, then tented with foil and baked 10 more so the tops didn't get too dry. The result was moist and warm - delicious right out of the oven! I did add a few cups of chocolate chips, and some more allspice (for a more pumpkin spice kind of taste), but that was a personal preference. Thank you for sharing! Will be making again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious. The changes I made are I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. Also, instead of oil, I used 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt and 1/2 cup applesauce, and threw in dried cranberries. VERY moist and perfect right out of the oven. I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe is the best pumpkin bread recipe and I've tried bunches. Everyone who tastes it raves and raves about it. I have one of those 6 loaf silicone baking "pans" and I bake many, many loaves during the Thanksgiving holiday. I freeze them after they've cooled and then they become my holiday gifts in December to all of my co-workers or hostess gifts when I attend parties. My non-baking co-workers tell me that they look forward to them every year. The only substitution that I make is that I use apple cider (or juice) in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanagerzoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I have had only rave reviews from making this bread! Adding milk chocolate chips only improves this deliciouly moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Loved this recipe. Tried an earlier recipe that called for Chocolate Chips. Toke away from the pumpkin flavor. Found this recipe and it was exactly what I was looking for. Followed the suggestions of other reviewers and covered with aluminum foil until the last 20 minutes. Came out perfectly, moist. I did add toasted almonds and instead of all the spices, I used 4 tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather1138

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Absolutely the best recipe ever! fresh grated pumpkin makes a nice touch =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Since I've made this I've had people requesting me to make it again and hand out the recipe ... good stuff! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Mom loved it even though she dislikes pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States