Pumpkin Bread VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This bread was delicious and easy. I added a few ingredients like chopped nuts and a spiced glaze to make it even more special. The only "problem" I had with it was the lack of instructions on oven temperature (I followed another recipe & baked it at 350). Overall, a great bread that I'm planning on serving at my Thanksgiving table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Very good. I used applesauce instead of oil and I added a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I might add a little bit more of each spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I decided to try this recipe because it doesn't have as much sugar as many of the recipes I looked at. It turned out great and has wonderful texture. I did use white wheat instead of whole wheat, and I did not have brown sugar, but used sugar in the raw. It was very easy and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
excellent recipe- but made a few basic changes: double allspice and nutmeg to 1/2 tsp total add 1/2 tsp cinnamon add 1/4 tsp ginger (fresh grated) add 1 tsp vanilla extract reduce orange juice 1 tsp (due to vanilla) Bake at 325. If you want to swap applesauce for vegetable oil - serve warm bread with apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalzabar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I was excited to try this recipe, because the reviews were so good. But I guess because of that, my expectations were really high. I followed the recipe exactly, but found the bread to be bland and sort of mealy. It was slightly better the second day, but still not what I'd anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
It's probably wonderful but there's no oven temperature posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Delicious! I substituted honey for brown sugar for a nutritious snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Good, but just a basic quick bread. I didn't taste anything that set it apart for me. I did add cinamon and cloves bc I like spicey breads. I did taste the spices, but it still seemed to be missing something. Maybe cranberries? I didn't taste the orange flavor at all, so I'd suggest more orange juice and/or orange zest to kick it up a knotch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I expected it to have more flavor, it was moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This bread tasted so good, we ate it all in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States