Pumpkin Bread VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Great bread! To reduce calories I used 2 bananas instead of the oil and I didn't have orange juice so I just upped the pumpkin puree by 1/3 cup and used some orange peel I had in the cupboard. Also increased the allspice and nutmeg to 1tsp and added 1 tbls of cinnamon. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Good, but just a basic quick bread. I didn't taste anything that set it apart for me. I did add cinamon and cloves bc I like spicey breads. I did taste the spices, but it still seemed to be missing something. Maybe cranberries? I didn't taste the orange flavor at all, so I'd suggest more orange juice and/or orange zest to kick it up a knotch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This bread is easy because it has a simple list of ingredients. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of the allspice and nutmeg. I'll probably use more next time. I have to admit I found the orange flavor a touch off-putting but it was something new to try. However, next time I think I'll substitute applesauce instead. It really bothers me that no oven temp was listed, I set mine at about 340 and I had to bake it for about 65 minutes, came out great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
excellent recipe- but made a few basic changes: double allspice and nutmeg to 1/2 tsp total add 1/2 tsp cinnamon add 1/4 tsp ginger (fresh grated) add 1 tsp vanilla extract reduce orange juice 1 tsp (due to vanilla) Bake at 325. If you want to swap applesauce for vegetable oil - serve warm bread with apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalzabar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I decided to try this recipe because it doesn't have as much sugar as many of the recipes I looked at. It turned out great and has wonderful texture. I did use white wheat instead of whole wheat, and I did not have brown sugar, but used sugar in the raw. It was very easy and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I was excited to try this recipe, because the reviews were so good. But I guess because of that, my expectations were really high. I followed the recipe exactly, but found the bread to be bland and sort of mealy. It was slightly better the second day, but still not what I'd anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Really good - I'd give it 4 and a half stars if I could! Love that it uses whole wheat flour. The only change I made was to add more spices... 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cloves and ginger. Like another reviewer, this will be my official pumpkin bread recipe from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
THIS IS NOW THE PUMPKIN BREAD RECIPE OF CHOICE IN MY FAMILY AND MY OFFICE PERSONNEL GOBBLED IT UP IN ONE DAY (3 WOMEN AND 1 MAN). COULDN'T BE EASIER TO PUT TOGETHER AND I DID ADD ½C BLACK RAISINS MIXED WITH SOME OF THE FLOUR AND TODAY I PLAN TO ADD SOME GLACÉ FRUITS TO THE BATTER THE SAME WAY. THANKS SUE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Glucksman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I expected it to have more flavor, it was moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Very good. I used applesauce instead of oil and I added a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I might add a little bit more of each spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States