Pumpkin Bread VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Just made this bread this afternoon. I didn't have whole wheat flour on hand, so I just used 2 cups of all purpose flour instead. I read the other reviews and added 1/2 t of cinnamon to the nutmeg and all spice. I used apple sauce instead of oil and added 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips. Was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I used applesauce instead of oil and added a bit of orange zest. We loved the perfect texture and how moist it was but there really wasn't any WOW factor for us. If you like simple basic good food this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipie is great! Quick and easy and so tasty. I had to do another batch because my husband ate them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyB
Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
It was very moist, but just did not have the zing of pumpkin and cinnamon flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
it's not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I like the orange flavor but by using whole wheat flour it makes it too mealy or dry whichever you want to call it. Using just all purpose flour is a big big improvement but, of course, not so healthy. Afraid I go for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I liked this recipe because it wasn't too sweet, and I liked that you add whole wheat flour too it. I made it for a party and it got great reviews. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was very yummy. I used 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1 cup each of wheat and white flours. I used applesauce in place of the oil and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon in place of the allspice (I had none on hand) and 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg as the other reviewers suggested. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was very simple to make and turned out ok considering that it is a 'healthier' bread than some of the other recipes that call for cups and cups of sugar. It's a bit dry (I think I might have overbaked it a bit), but all in all it makes for a nice snack with tea. Instead of the spices listed, I used pumpkin pie spice, but I wish I added a bit more than 1/2 tsp as I would have liked it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is very good, but I will add more spice next time (probably pumpkin pie spice) as this is just a little bit under-spiced for me. I added mini chocolate chips to this with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States