Pumpkin Bread Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Just took this out of the oven & had to taste it. It is scrumptious! Granted, I didn't use the the Chinese spice either, just went with what I had on hand, which was pumpkin pie spice, I used 3 tsp of it. The rest of the recipe I kept the same . The reason I wanted to use this recipe is, it only makes one loaf. It is SO moist and just wonderful. Mine didn't turn out as high as in the pic above, but nonetheless, a wonderful pumpkin bread recipe, delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I only made one change and that was using chopped pecans in the bread only because we don't care for walnuts. I did up the pecans to a full cup because I wanted to sprinkle some chopped nuts on top. I made muffins out of this recipe instead of one big loaf. I was able to get 18 muffins out of one recipe. I baked my muffins at 350* for almost 22 minutes. These muffins were moist, chewy, flavorful and all around just WONDERFUL. One of the best pumpkin quick breads I've ever made. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe is great! I made a couple of changes: 1 c All Purpose White Flour, 1 c Whole Wheat Flour, 1/4 c 2% milk, 2 TBSP Land O'Lakes Olive Oil Margarine in addition to the butter, 1 TBSP Olive Oil. I added the liquids because using whole wheat has a tendency to make recipes dry. The bread turned out very moist. I did use the Chinese Five Spice. I also omitted the nuts. Next time I will add those. It took 1hr to bake. I used a 9X9 brownie pan instead of a regular loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love pumpkin and I always look for recipes on pumpkin! This is definitely a good choice for your family. I made some changes on the recipe by replacing all-purpose flour to wholewheat flour, adding about 1/4 cup of milk into the pumpkin purée (to add some moist to the bread). I also replaced walnut with pumpkin seed (I ran out of walnut) and bake it in a bear muffin tray. My three-year old boy loves it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this vegan by using one mashed banana and a 1/2 cup applesauce in place of the eggs, and of course Earth Balance for butter... turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was delicious! I made a few changes; substituted flour with Gluten Free Flour, substituted Chinese 5 spice powder with ground cloves & added 1/3 cup of milk & 1 tsp of vanilla when doubling the recipe. It yielded 8 mini loaves on 350 not 325 for 45-50 min. I also live in high altitude, (5,000 feet above sea level). I used my own pumpkin puree and I also did not use any nuts. Let cool 5 min then dump loaf onto plastic wrap & wrap up, this keeps it very moist. To make puree scrape the pumpkin out, line a pan with heavy duty foil, smear butter on foil, and then cut into 4 large pieces and bake on 350 until you can pierce the flesh easily with a knife(around 1hr covered), let it cool down to handle, scoop out or slice flesh off. Puree in a food processor. Remember to double the puree if doubling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was a very easy recipe. I did substitute the Chinese spice with Pumpkin Pie spice. And since the kids don't like nuts I added raisins. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I always make this. I don't use the Chinese 5 spice or all spice. I use 1 tsp of Epicure's Gingerbread spices and cinnamon. It gives it an extra kick of flavor and is always a hit. I also add a cup of raisins to the mix and leave out the nuts for the kids to take to school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was just OK. Not great. I have used other recipes in the past that I liked better. The batter was very, very thick, so it took longer than the suggested time to cook. I didn't use the Chinese Five-Spice powder. I used Nutmeg instead. The pumpkin flavor wasn't strong enough for my taste. A good starting off point for pumpkin bread, but needs lots of tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I used whole wheat pastry flower and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States