Pumpkin Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was phenomenal! I made a few changes, though. I used two cups of whole milk instead of the cream and soy milk. I used 3 cups of French Bread and 3 cups of Cinnamon raisin. I also made a sauce out of 5 ounces of evaporated milk, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 tablespoon of cream of coconut. With about 15 minutes left to bake, I drizzled the sauce over the pudding. Make sure you don't let the sauce set too long or else the fat in the cream of coconut will separate and you'll have to re-heat it. The pudding itself was very moist and rich with flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Amazing. I loved this. so moist and delicious. OMG nomzies. I used 1 C whole milk instead of so milk. and 6 cups cubed white bread instead of French bread. I also put it in a 13 x 9 in. pan and baked for 45 mins. So moist and gooey! love it. Made it a day ahead of time and reheated for guests. I served it with no sugar whipped cream. Incredible. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is delicious! I am not a fan of soy milk and I had no cream, so I just used 2 cups of 2% milk and it tasted wonderful. I used 2 cups of puree pumpkin from my garden which made it an even more special treat. My other small change was that I only had dark brown sugar, so I used 3/4 cup of that and 1/4 cup white sugar so the flavor wouldn't overwhelm the pumpkin. This is one of the best bread puddings I've ever eaten. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
5 stars because this was delicious-- but I did make some significant changes. Instead of French bread I used whole wheat cinnamon-raisin bread, then skipped adding raisins. Instead of the cream and soy milk, I used 2 cups whole milk. Instead of puree I used a can of pumpkin pie filling, and then didn't add the cinnamon. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup, and added a cup of walnuts. Cooked in two square pans for 40 minutes- but next time will check it sooner. Absolutely heavenly dessert that everyone raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Even my mother in law loved it!! Only thing I changed was 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of whole cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I followed thsi recipe pretty closely, although I used regular italian sandwich bread instead of french bread. I alos did not have raisins, so I finely chopped a gala apple and used that in place of the raisins. I also did not have heavy cream, but used half and half instead. I also used Nog flavored soymilk in place of the vanilla. (It was all I had!) This makes a very nice dessert. Not too sweet, but ideal served warm with vanilla ice cream and/or whipped cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was the best recipe ever! I love pumpkin and I love bread pudding so mix em together and it's even better! This is the moistest bread pudding you can imagine. I am making it again tomorrow for a group dessert. Can't wait to hear all the raves on this!!!!! MmmmmMMmmmmmGood!!!!! Super easy to make. The longest part is the baking time. But it is soooo worth it!!!!! 5 stars all the way!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was heavenly (if you like pumpkin). I used 1% milk instead of the soy milk and 1 cup half and half instead of the heavy cream. Used a long french bread loaf. Made it in a 9x13 pan and baked at 350 for about 40-45 minutes. Some people liked Cool Whip on theirs but I preferred just the bread pudding. My adult daughter could not get enough of it and all my guests liked it also. I will make this again and do the same things as it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Super duper Good! Dh came home just as it was coming out of the oven, he ran to the freezer, got the Ice Cream and then ask if he could have some! I did use a multi grain bread, and more then 6 cups more like 8-so I added one more cup of cream and it worked out excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flacuchiz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States