Pumpkin Bread Puddin' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this bread pudding this evening and it was one of the best desserts I've ever come across. I picked up a loaf of artisan style white bread at my local bakery (I think it was an italian bread), cut it into 1-2" chunks and dried it out a little in the oven before putting the custard over it. I cooked it in a glass cake pan and left out the chocolate chips. The best part of this dish is the little crisp brule on the top from where I sprinkled the brown sugar. I ate this with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and some caramel sauce. I will DEFINITELY make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is so delicious! I just ate two bowls BEFORE dinner right after it came out of the oven, so I probably ruined my dinner tonight. I don't care for pumpkin pie, but here the pumpkin flavor is not strong. After making Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins (from allrecipes), I had just less than a cup of pumpkin left from the can, and this was a perfect way to use it up. I used 2 eggs instead of 1 egg and 3 yolks, and I totally forgot the chocolate chips, but it doesn't need them. Baked in a casserole dish 7x10 for 45 min. (Here's the vanilla sauce I made to go on top: 1/2 c sugar, 1 Tbs cornstarch, whisk together in a pan, stir in 1/2 c water, boil 1 min. stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in 2 Tbs butter and 1 tsp vanilla. Serve warm.) This is definitely a great Autumn dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was FANTASTIC! Two of my favorite desserts are bread pudding and pumpkin pie so this was a hit at my house!!!! Neither me or my wife care much for chocolate so I left off the chocolate chips and it was just delicious. I will make it again and again! Thanks for such a great and original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I love bread pudding and this one is perfect for the fall. I used 2 eggs instead of the separate yolks. Otherwise I stuck with the recipe. I added a little vanilla glaze at the end, but it was just as good without. My kids had whipped cream instead and loved it. I will definately be making this again - possibly again this week. Love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Wonderful....I added a little more pumpkin, maybe an other half cup.....really, really great!! Freezes well. But we took the rest out of freezer the next day and baked it and it was gone in no time fast... I had doubled the reciepe!!! Next time I think that I will leave the chocolate chips off and add raisins to the bread pudding mixture....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Fantastic!!! Made it in a glass deep pie dish, with butternut squash instead of pupmkin, (Cant find any in Spain). Used 1 cup skim milk and 3/4 cup of light cream and white chocolate insted of milk chocolate. The best bread pudding I´ve had yet, thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My family loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
yummy and SO RICH!! made in a 8x8 pan and served warm with vanilla ice cream... it was pretty eggy for me - i might try one egg yolk less (and i used more bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I loved this! I prefer it without the chocolate chips. Instead I pour caramel sauce over it before serving. It is delicious and so easy! I will be making this recipe for many years, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was yummy. I am hosting Thanksgiving for about 20 people this year so since it's the end of September, my husband & I thought we should start thinking about what we will serve and test out some recipes before we serve anything new. I made a few adjustments...I used a regular casserole dish instead of individual ramekins. Also did not use cloves at all and instead of whole milk, I had a container of half and half to use up. Very good! When I make it in a casserole dish again, I will double the recipe. Also, instead of chocolate chips I added some of the little Heath bar toffee bits to the top. Hubby ate almost half the dish last night with some Reddi-whip on top. Neither of us is a huge pumpkin lover, but this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Comess
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States