Pumpkin Bread Puddin' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Instead of using custard cups, I poured it into a 8 1/2 by 11" pan. I baked it at 350 for 45 minutes. It was DELICOUS. A really nice change from plain bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
OMG! I have no found a replacement for pumpkin pie this thanksgiving. This was unbelievable. I used heavy cream b/c I was planning on using another recipe when I went grocery shopping. I also used Challah bread which I think made a difference. I tripled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan. Served with vanilla icecream and carmel sauce. Everyone thought it was HEAVENLY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Editor's note: Thanks for the comments about the missing step in the directions for this recipe. The recipe has been edited and is now correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I am rating this based on ingredients, not preparation directions, because a great recipe can utilize many serving options. I made this in a 2.5 qt casserole dish, with approximately 2x the ingredients. The only reason I adjusted anything was because I had a 12oz can of pumpkin, which is 2 cups, and wanted to use it all. Therefore, I used "about" 2x everything, making it a little more pumpkiny, and with slightly less sugar and milk, and 1 less egg yolk. Finally, I tried raisins instead of chocolate chips, and mixed them into the batter. It was truly fantastic. I look forward to further adjusting this to suit my family's taste in the future, and I plan on making it for the holidays this year. Note: I'm at a high altitude, and I didn't have any problems with this at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good recipe! I went for broke and used fat-free milk and this still tasted fantastic. I doubled the recipe and made this in a 9x13 pan. The only difference was I used 4 whole eggs rather than 2 eggs and 6 egg yolks. I used pumpkin pecan bread, which I think really made this good. I also took a frosting recipe from a cinnamon roll recipe and spread it over the pudding fresh out of the oven and sprinkled a little brown sugar over the top. I omitted the chocolate chips. The family loved this! Definitely going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koolandblue

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Wonderful....I added a little more pumpkin, maybe an other half cup.....really, really great!! Freezes well. But we took the rest out of freezer the next day and baked it and it was gone in no time fast... I had doubled the reciepe!!! Next time I think that I will leave the chocolate chips off and add raisins to the bread pudding mixture....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was yummy. I am hosting Thanksgiving for about 20 people this year so since it's the end of September, my husband & I thought we should start thinking about what we will serve and test out some recipes before we serve anything new. I made a few adjustments...I used a regular casserole dish instead of individual ramekins. Also did not use cloves at all and instead of whole milk, I had a container of half and half to use up. Very good! When I make it in a casserole dish again, I will double the recipe. Also, instead of chocolate chips I added some of the little Heath bar toffee bits to the top. Hubby ate almost half the dish last night with some Reddi-whip on top. Neither of us is a huge pumpkin lover, but this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Comess
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
OMG - This is the best pumpkin dessert ever! I used 1% instead of whole milk and it was still wonderful. I will definately be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9 x 13. I also used challah bread. Very good. I think it could have had a little less cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States