Pumpkin Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Your mouth will start to water 40 min. into the baking time as the aroma invades your home!!! Since this makes 3 loaves, it is a great gift to bring over to neighbors and relatives, also great to freeze and have on hand. I will definetly use only half of the oil, and substitute the rest for unsweetened applesauce since it is 10g fat per slice. It stays fresh in the fridge for a little over a week. I had to cook mine for 70-75 min. but that is probably due to my oven.********So I tried this recipe again and put only applesauce and no oil. The result? Better! It is so moist and delicious and healthier! I have made it this way 10 plus times now and I will never go back to putting oil in it! ********This lightened version is: 168 calories, 1 g fat per serving (36 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is really great. The only thing I did differently was I didn't measure out 3 cups of pumpkin. I just used a 28 oz can. You get about a half cup more pumpkin than called for, but it sure doesn't hurt it any, and I have no recipe that only calls for a half cup pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
951 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Very good for gifts! I even cut back on the sugar and oil slightly for health reasons and no one notices the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This is the best pumpkin bread! I added rum soaked raisins to the batter and I also doubled the spices which really brought out the flavor. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I made this recipe for muffins and mini muffins and they were wonderful! I tried a small loaf pan of bread but it seemed to get too done on top before the middle. A dense bread! Excellent for muffins....I took them to preschool for snack and kept some for home! I'll use this one again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I've made 2 batches of this yummy bread for the holidays as gifts. Of course we taste-tested 1st...really, really good! I added chopped pecans to one batch. ONLY PROBLEM I ENCOUNTERED WAS: had to cook for at least 15 mins longer than recommended for 1st batch...it made 7 mini loaves. 2nd batch I made 3 minis and 1 reg. sz. loaf...cooked 20 mins longer for the lg., 10 mins longer for the minis. Otherwise...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I discovered this recipe about a year ago and have made it at least 20 times. Everyone raves about it, it is simply delicious! My daughter likes to eat a slice of this bread with a dallop of whipped cream on top- it tastes just like pumpkin pie, only better. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I've been asked to make this again and again. We added walnuts and/or raisins with yummy results. Little loafs make great winter-holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
MMMM MMMM MMMMMMMMMMMM!!!! This pumpkin bread recipe is the best ever! I made it last year for the first time and it's wonderful, only change I made is I added more spices and added Craisins to one loaf, chocolate chips to one, raisins to one, and left the rest plain (made a lot). I actually think it's best plain! Oh and the bread has a gorgeous color and TASTE, even my four and five year old cousins loved it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This is similar to a recipe from the Joy of Cooking that I have misplaced. It was delicious and moist. I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon, etc. as that's all I had handy and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States