Pumpkin Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Used applesauce instead of oil. Used paper liners with the first batch and they come out better without out them. Just spray the tin with Pam. Only used about 60% of the sugar and they were sweet enough (added semi-sweet chocolate chips). Will try plain and with raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wow! This pumpkin bread was outstanding! I made 2 9X5 loaves and a dozen medium muffins to take to a gathering. I made very few changes: used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of part of oil; used all of a 29 oz. can of pumpkin; subbed 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for part of the 4 3/4 cup called for; used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown; and added chopped pecans to 1 loaf. The amount of spices called for was perfect! This bread is moist and flavorful. The recipe was similar to one I've used for 40+ years, but was much better! Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe twice this week, as written. Next time I'm going to try reducing the oil and adding applesauce, but it is amazing with all the oil. Right now my kitchen smells amazing! I didn't change anything except I added walnuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was so easy and just turned out super moist and oh so good!!! I did have to cook for an additional 20 minutes but it was well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent bread. I had 1 cup of leftover frozen pumpkin and found this recipe. I cut it down to 12 servings (1 loaf) and added chopped walnuts. I also used my homemade pumpkin pie spice (1 1/2 tsp) so it's just perfect. Thanks Cheryl for this yummy recipe to use my 1 cup of pumpkin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This recipe is so easy and amazingly good. You might think 3 loaves is excessive, but trust me, they're going to go fast. It's only mid October and I'm already on my third batch of this stuff! It makes a great side to bring to parties and great little gifts to give to family and friends to know you are thinking of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickie Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this recipe! I've made it too many times to count and it always turns out perfectly. Key is to make sure it's done after the 1 hour of baking. Toothpick can't have a drop off wet dough on it or the top of the loaf will not be done. Be patient! :) I love the large recipe as it uses up 1 large can of pumpkin exactly even though it's slightly too much pumpkin and it turns out great. I freeze the extra loaves that don't get devoured in the first 2 days. My kids and husband LOVE this recipe and it smells amazing while baking. Perfect fall and winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I scaled this recipe down to only make one loaf - I figured I'd make sure I likde it before I committing to three loaves. Based on other reviews, I cut the sugar back by 1/3 cup, and subbed apple sauce for half of the oil. I also topped the bread with walnut pieces. I always omit nutmeg from my recipies as I simply do not like the flavor. The flavor was great and the bread was still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was fantastic. Moist and excellent combination of spices. The kids couldn't wait while it was cooking and it's a big hit. Thank you for the recipe. I plan on making this a lot during Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
When I first told my hubby that I was going to make this, he did not look pleased. He said he didn't like pumpkin bread. I used a cushaw pumpkin puree that I had made and it turned out great. The hubby really enjoyed it and so did the group I shared it with. Although it made more than I had anticipated... I had no leftovers.Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States