Pumpkin Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this recipe! I've made it too many times to count and it always turns out perfectly. Key is to make sure it's done after the 1 hour of baking. Toothpick can't have a drop off wet dough on it or the top of the loaf will not be done. Be patient! :) I love the large recipe as it uses up 1 large can of pumpkin exactly even though it's slightly too much pumpkin and it turns out great. I freeze the extra loaves that don't get devoured in the first 2 days. My kids and husband LOVE this recipe and it smells amazing while baking. Perfect fall and winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I scaled this recipe down to only make one loaf - I figured I'd make sure I likde it before I committing to three loaves. Based on other reviews, I cut the sugar back by 1/3 cup, and subbed apple sauce for half of the oil. I also topped the bread with walnut pieces. I always omit nutmeg from my recipies as I simply do not like the flavor. The flavor was great and the bread was still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was fantastic. Moist and excellent combination of spices. The kids couldn't wait while it was cooking and it's a big hit. Thank you for the recipe. I plan on making this a lot during Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
When I first told my hubby that I was going to make this, he did not look pleased. He said he didn't like pumpkin bread. I used a cushaw pumpkin puree that I had made and it turned out great. The hubby really enjoyed it and so did the group I shared it with. Although it made more than I had anticipated... I had no leftovers.Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a great recipe. I made it as written.... delicious, but not very healthy. But no one knew that my new version was good for you. The pumpkin and spices are what makes it so good (and the chocolate chips of course). I substituted white, whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour. You can always use a combination of the two to equal the 4 3/4 cups. There is way too much sugar...it's not necessary. I used 1 1/3 cups each of white and dark brown sugar (I might try all brown sugar next time). I used 2 whole eggs and 7 egg whites (again, you can change the combination). I also substituted 1 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce plus 1/4 cup oil. And of course, I added a handful of mini chocolate chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made it WAY healthier and it was still fabulous. We used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, 30 oz of pumpkin, cut the sugar in half, reduced the oil to 1 cup, and added chocolate chips. I had to grind my own nutmeg and cloves, the fresh spices may have helped a lot with the flavor. I will make this monthly for my kids for snack, good way to get more pumpkin into the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe, I have made it several times already, and I am doing so again now. I have juiced it up just a bit, I make my own pumpkin mash, add 2 teaspoons Nutmeg and 2 Teaspoons Ground CLove 2 teaspoons cinnamon. Also I like to add 2 apples that I have covered in sugar and cinnamon cut into small pieces, After the batter is mixed I add the apple chunks and just kinda fold them in. Comes deliciously moist, the extra spices give a really great fall smell and taste. Your mouth will be watering as it cooks and once they come out 3 loaves does not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is my go-to pumpkin bread recipe! I love it! It make a lot so I end up giving a loaf away, setting one out for us to eat and freezing the other two for later on in the season. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I've made this many times. Awesome recipe! Even my kids love it! Been asked for the recipe by several friends. I use unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil and add a little extra of the spices. Perfect for the fall/winter holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilytx
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I made it last night and I love it! I added chocolate chips, but other than that didn't change a thing. Super simple with a delicious outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States