Pumpkin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Delicious! Next time I would reduce the oil (as another commenter mentioned). The texture was a bit too "wet" for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Great recipe! I've had this in my book for a couple of years and ironically found the same recipe here online. My version however always yields 3 loaves for some reason, and I bake it at 350 for 1 hour. I love to modify each loaf by adding mini chocolate chips or nuts. They freeze very well and are great treats for drop-in visitors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe. I always let mine sit overnight after baking and it gets even moister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
moist, not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
We really like this bread. it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I loved it, but I also altered it some. Using melted butter in place of oil and adding a tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp more of each of the all spice, nutmeg and cinnamon. I also added a 1/4 tsp of ginger and cloves. It was super moist and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abrownworth
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
NOTE: the bread does not get done at 300 degrees for 1 hour. Probably should be 350 for an hour. The allspice is too over-powering for my taste. I would leave it out if I were to make this again. The bread is REALLY moist though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I've been wanting to make pumpkin bread for years. I knew nothing about it, and I've only tried it once 7 years ago. This recipe was simple enough that even I could do it and MAN was it great. It makes a ton so I ran out of pans but I improvised. I had plenty to give to family, and now my boyfriend keeps asking for it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I am an inexperienced baker. I had never made bread before last night, but I made pumpkin bread last night using this recipe as a base. My bread was easy to make, and it was delicious. It hasn't even been 24 hours, and one loaf has been devoured...and 1/3rd of the other loaf is gone. I did make a few changes though. I replaced the one cup of oil with 1 cup unsweetened apple sauce. I only used one cup of sugar and 8 packets of stevia in place of the 3 cups sugar. I used 100% whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour (as well as 1/4 cup wheat germ and 1/4 cup ground flax seeds) I sprinkled a teaspoon of sugar on top of each loaf before baking. I spiced it up a little also. I used 1 and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon cloves, 1 teaspoon allspice, 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger, and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. I also added 1/2 cup grated zucchini to the batter of the second loaf. Despite all these substitutions...the bread was extremely moist (but firm). The way I made it may not be sweet enough for some, but it was perfect for me. Others pumpkins bread is more like cake than bread...but this is definately more like bread. My family loved this bread. My Mom asked for seconds and then thirds!!! She rarely even asks for seconds. Next time, I'll up the pumpkin by 1/2 a cup. I really like pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
THis is an awesome recipe. I made it as muffins and they turned out great. Really rich and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States