Pumpkin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was the blandest pumpkin bread I have ever tried. I added cinnamon and raisins and nuts to the second batch and it didn't make a difference. The reason I tried it again was because of the butter and thought it might be different, but it was heavy and thick and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The recipe says to cook this bread for 40-50 mins, but my bread has now been in the oven for an hour, and no where near being done. I should have read the reviews before making it. It is simple enough to make, but I probably should have split it between two pans. Maybe it will still turn out okay if I leave it in longer, but it's probably gonna burn before it finishes in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe out one day when I had brown sugar, but no white sugar and really wanted pumpkin bread, and it has been the best recipe Ive come across so far. I did modify a little, adding spices (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice). This is the second time I've made it and this time I substituted chocolate chips in for the nuts and it is even better! Next time I'll do both. I also cooked it in a 9x9 pan, and had no problems with it not cooking evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
The WORST bread recipe I have ever made and I bake two or three times a week. I should have known when the dough's consistency was too runny and there was WAY too much. With all of the other great pumpkin bread recipes out there this one isn't even worth trying to salvage. Just use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I agree with some of the other reviwers that this recipe needs seasoning. That being said this recipe is GREAT for being a blank slate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Total disaster!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
What a disaster! The recipe is a nightmare! You absolutely need to make two loaves---it will not cook in one pan. I wish I would have read other reviews before baking this mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This bread didn't have a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I loved this recipe. I changed the walnuts into chocolate chips (okay almost 2 cups :). It did take almost 15 minutes extra in the oven (I'm assuming it's my altitude) and I made sure to let it cool for 15 minutes in the pan. Stayed moist for 3 days...until it all disappeared from my kitchen. Was really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I am so frustrated!!!! I spent a lot of money to 4xs this recipe and right now it has been in the oven for over an hour and half and it is still not done!!! This is the second batch we already had it mixed to do the second batch or I wouldn't have made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States