Pumpkin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I loved this recipe. I changed the walnuts into chocolate chips (okay almost 2 cups :). It did take almost 15 minutes extra in the oven (I'm assuming it's my altitude) and I made sure to let it cool for 15 minutes in the pan. Stayed moist for 3 days...until it all disappeared from my kitchen. Was really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is a moist and delicious bread. I used raisins in place of the nuts. If you are looking for a classic pumpkin bread - look no farther. This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe out one day when I had brown sugar, but no white sugar and really wanted pumpkin bread, and it has been the best recipe Ive come across so far. I did modify a little, adding spices (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice). This is the second time I've made it and this time I substituted chocolate chips in for the nuts and it is even better! Next time I'll do both. I also cooked it in a 9x9 pan, and had no problems with it not cooking evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I agree with some of the other reviwers that this recipe needs seasoning. That being said this recipe is GREAT for being a blank slate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used this recipe to make some pumpkin bread for my husband this morning. It is definately moist! I used a bit more pumpkin than called for, and less milk, added tons of nuts, and even stirred in some pumpkin pie spice. I have a convection oven, so when I thought it wasn't going to get done in time, I turned the convection fan on. It turned out fine, and even though it has been a few hours, it is still moist and delicious! This is a quick recipe that took no time to prepare, and I am certain my husband's construction crew will give it rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This bread didn't have a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe definitely requires the use of spices to improve it. So I added some cinnamon, allspice and bit of fresh grated nutmeg. In addition, I used pumpkin pie filling, instead of pureed pumpkin. I aslo added walnuts and raisins to the mix. I found that the recipe was too much for one loaf pan so I dumped the whole lot into a 9x13 pan and cooked for the 45 mins to great results. It was very moist and had a light, cakey consistancy. A decent base recipe, but requires tweaking to improve taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I agree with the above comment.I wish that I had thought to read the reviews before I made it. It is good and served gladly for my breakfast a few days. But it lacks a sort of zing. Morespice and maybe a bit more brown sugar. Like the person above said it's a good base. Gives room for personal taste to govern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The recipe says to cook this bread for 40-50 mins, but my bread has now been in the oven for an hour, and no where near being done. I should have read the reviews before making it. It is simple enough to make, but I probably should have split it between two pans. Maybe it will still turn out okay if I leave it in longer, but it's probably gonna burn before it finishes in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was the blandest pumpkin bread I have ever tried. I added cinnamon and raisins and nuts to the second batch and it didn't make a difference. The reason I tried it again was because of the butter and thought it might be different, but it was heavy and thick and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States