Pumpkin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was really disappointed with this bread. Too rubbery and bland. I doubled the cinnamon, but it was still very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Super delicious, you will never miss the oil! Every bit as good as the $7 loaf I buy at a local bakery, but made with better ingredients at home. I made a half recipe and baked it in a regular size loaf pan for 52 minutes at 325 degrees in a convection oven, following the advice of another reviewer. It turned out perfectly. I used a heaping cup of fresh pumpkin puree and omitted the water. I used all white whole wheat flower, and you couldn't tell it was whole grain at all. I cut the sugar to 1 cup, and added 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves, and 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger for the spices. My family loved it, even my husband who doesn't like pumpkin pie. It was even better after it had sit overnight. I'm making my second loaf today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this a few days ago and it was a hit at work. Everyone loved it. I did make adjustments to the recipe and used 3 cups of brown sugar instead of granulated sugar, added in freshly grated nutmeg and some bittersweet ghiradelli chocolate chips. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I accidentally left it in longer than the instructions called for but it still came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Marley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I just found this recipe a few days ago and made it twice already!! I only made 1/2 the original servings though. It came out to one perfect sized loaf (twice). I made a few changes.. the amount of flour it called for.. 1 3/4 cups all purpose, I reduced that to 1 cup and added 3/4 cup whole wheat flour. Instead of pumpkin pie spice I used equal parts of clove and nutmeg. I reduced white sugar to 1 cup instead of 1 1/2. I added a good drizzle of pure maple syrup. I left out the nuts. This was such a good, flavorful, moist bread. It is a keeper & I'll be making it again & again.. very easy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Used 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 cups white flour, 1.5 cups gluten free flour, still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Excellent, so moist and a great taste! Nice to have a recipe you just mix and bake! I made it exactly as the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
very tasty a bit healthier than some of the other recipes. Based on a few comments, I made a few modifications to my taste: - 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour, 2 c all purpose flour - added 2 tsp vanilla extract - substitue pecans for walnuts (that's what I had on hand) - add 1/4 c 2% milk with 1/4 c water - a little extra of each spice It was delicious and easy. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Sure was good! In fact I think the author must be messing something up. How on earth it ever gets the chance to dry out is beyond me! Gone in a flash..like 9 hours after it came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was excellent. I followed the base recipe but tweaked it by increasing the pumpkin pie spice to 4 teaspoons and added cinnamon chips instead of walnuts. I added a glaze made of confectioners sugar, milk, and vanilla. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States