Pumpkin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Love this recipe it mixes so easily and is so quick to put together. Given out mini loaves as gifts and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful and very easy recipe. My fiance LOVED it. I added walnuts and raisins as suggested. I lightly sprinkled some confection sugar for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This recipe turned out very good. Definitely will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
this should be your first choice for Thanksgiving Dessert. You shoudl try it! It's DELICIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Great!! After I started making this, I realized I didn't have applesauce, so I went ahead and used vegetable oil. I also didn't have any walnuts, but I can't wait to make this again and add nuts, and probably raisins, to it. After reading the other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 2.5 cups, and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I made this recipe even healthier by using Splenda and Egg Beaters. The taste is the same! I brought the recipe to 109 kcal/slice, and 1.8g fat/ slice and 19 Carbs/slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very good pumpkin flavor. As someone suggested I used 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites in place of the 4 eggs. Also I made 2 larger loaves and 12 mini muffins. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This was good. I was kinda dissapointed st first before it cooled, (thinking the inside was still dough...but it was just moist with a hard crust) I added more spices and pumpkin and added 1.5 tbs vanilla as well. in one of the loaves I aslo added chocolate chips, it worked very well! and also making a powder sugar glaze mixed with pumpkin pie spice. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I really enjoyed this pumpkin bread! To save a bit more in terms of calories and fat, and to add fiber (without sacrificing flavor or texture), I made the following substitutions / additions: 1/2 c Better 'n Eggs instead of 4 whole eggs (would probably go with 3/4 c next time) Instead of 1 c applesauce: 3/4 c applesauce 2 T canola oil 1 T liquid lecithin (a natural soy-based emulsifier) For the 3 c white sugar, I used: 1/2 c granulated sugar 1/2 c brown sugar 1/4 c sucralose (would probably up the sucralose to 1/2 c next time, to get a little more sweetness) Used half all-purpose and half whole wheat pastry flour: 1 3/4 c whole wheat pastry flour 1 3/4 c all-purpose flour Spices: Didn't have pumpkin pie spice so used 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves Also added: 1/4 tsp guar gum (a natural stabilizer) 2 tsp vanilla 1/4 c Silk unsweetened soy milk instead of the water I baked it in a 9" X 13" pan for about 30 minutes to make brownie-style servings. Without any nuts, these modifications give the following nutritional profile for 1 of 24 servings: 127.1 cal, 2.6 g protein, 2.0 g fat (only 0.18 saturated), and 24.8 g carbs (2.1 fiber, 5.9 sugars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I was very happy to find a healthy recipe and still have the bread be very moist and tasty! This recipe is also very versatile for substitutions. I changed a few things just for my personal diet. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used two egg whites in place of two of the eggs. I eliminated totally one cup of the sugar and replaced one with brown sugar (i.e. 1 cup white, 1 cup brown) and the recipe was still sweet enough for me. I also, baked it in a bundt pan for 55 minutes. After it cooled I inverted it onto a decorative plate and sifted a small amount of confectioner's sugar over the top, it was a huge hit and guest couldn't believe how low fat it was and still tasted great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States