Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used a crock pot and let all the ingredients simmer for about 4 hours on high. IT IS DELICIOUS! I modified some items based on what I had on hand- Rice Wine Vinegar and a Spiral ham bone- and I omitted the extra salt. It is so much better than i expected it to be. The flavors play together well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I agree with all the other reviews. The recipe has a good foundation, but bland if followed strictly. I substituted a good quality cabernet for the sherry vinegar, and coconut oil for sauteing the butter and garlic. I also added 1 tbsp. curry, 1.5 tsp. cumin and 1 tsp. cayenne to the mix. Also needed additional salt and pepper. I prefer vegetable or chicken stock to beef as I think the subtleness of the pumpkin gets overrun with the strong beef flavor. And finally, when serving, I add sour cream to each bowl and stir. I also agree it does not need the ham. Top with chive and toasted pumpkin seeds and the recipe is elevated from ok to fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is a really delicious soup! I had some leftover bacon so I crumbled it in..it added some salt and extra flavor, super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made a vegetarian version of this. Used vegetable broth instead of beef and omit the ham and added some fresh chopped kale. Added some cumin, chili powder, and cayenne powder to give it a kick. Only had 2 cans of black beans and subbed the 3rd for great northern.. I only puréed about a can and a half of beans. Still turned out very yummy. Will be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
pureed 1 can of beans and tomatoes, added some jalepeno peppers and cumin. Low sodium beans, broth, no added sugar. My husband wanted me to leave out the pumpkin but I wanted the added fiber so left it in, he still had 2nds so he must have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe, other than I used my crockpot (4 hrs on high), used less butter to saute' the onions, used a can of diced tomatoes with mild green chilies, and I used Dry Sherry rather than vinegar. Also used 1 tsp of ground cumin 1 tsp ground coriander. The beef broth was a low sodium version. Refrigerated the pot overnight, then re-heated the next day. Soup thickened pretty nicely, but next time, I'd add a 3rd can of beans to the blender. Served with buttermilk cornbread. Would be good with some Monterey Jack Cheese, diced onions, and/or a bit of lime on the side as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Extra tasty with shredded cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My sister-in-law raved about this recipe and passed it on to me and boy was she correct....delicious!! I did not have three cans of black beans, so I pureed one can of garbanzo and one can of pinto and used the one can of black beans whole. I also used turkey ham. I will be making this again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow,great soup. I made it pretty much as the recipe but added coriander and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Hands down, my favorite soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Hampe
Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States