Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made a vegetarian version of this. Used vegetable broth instead of beef and omit the ham and added some fresh chopped kale. Added some cumin, chili powder, and cayenne powder to give it a kick. Only had 2 cans of black beans and subbed the 3rd for great northern.. I only puréed about a can and a half of beans. Still turned out very yummy. Will be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
pureed 1 can of beans and tomatoes, added some jalepeno peppers and cumin. Low sodium beans, broth, no added sugar. My husband wanted me to leave out the pumpkin but I wanted the added fiber so left it in, he still had 2nds so he must have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe, other than I used my crockpot (4 hrs on high), used less butter to saute' the onions, used a can of diced tomatoes with mild green chilies, and I used Dry Sherry rather than vinegar. Also used 1 tsp of ground cumin 1 tsp ground coriander. The beef broth was a low sodium version. Refrigerated the pot overnight, then re-heated the next day. Soup thickened pretty nicely, but next time, I'd add a 3rd can of beans to the blender. Served with buttermilk cornbread. Would be good with some Monterey Jack Cheese, diced onions, and/or a bit of lime on the side as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Extra tasty with shredded cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
My sister-in-law raved about this recipe and passed it on to me and boy was she correct....delicious!! I did not have three cans of black beans, so I pureed one can of garbanzo and one can of pinto and used the one can of black beans whole. I also used turkey ham. I will be making this again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow,great soup. I made it pretty much as the recipe but added coriander and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Hands down, my favorite soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita
Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Kids declared this the best ever. Used chicken versus ham b/c that s what I had. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scubies Dad
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great recipe as a base. Sometimes the basic recipes are a little bland but that lets you take it to your own personal tastes.(Southwestern, Indian or even well blended for a smooth, creamy experience) I think you can take it in any direction you want. I added some Tumeric and Jalapeno to add some heat. I also made cooked my own black beans instead of canned. I then gave it a loose mash to have both the texture from the mashed beans and some whole beans for a more rustic look. I served with Pita and a Zinfandel. Pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubies Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A bit bland, but a good base. I used chicken broth instead of beef broth, and red wine vinegar, as that's what I had on hand. After tasting, I added some cayenne pepper and gunpowder (jalapeno pepper spice), as well as some extra black pepper. I threw in some corn as well, just for kicks. I may try it again with some of the tweaks other reviewers have used. Again, very bland on its own, but a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7RandomNames

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States