Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
It was bland prior to adding chilli flakes, cumin, cajun spices etc. but turned out wonderfully! I used fresh puréed pumpkin and next time would add it to the blender as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Used fresh pumpkin. Used 1 can kidney, 1 can black, 1 can chili beans (with sauce). Added 1/2 tsp cumin, coriander, and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This soup was awesome! But I did make some changes.. I like chunky soup so I took one can of undrained black beans and puréed with pumpkin puree. Left tomatoes chunky. Also I minced the ham in the blender as well. Used oil instead of butter to sauté. Used onion powder and basil, and I did not have sherry vinegar so I Used 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 1 tbsp rice vinegar. Turned out so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
WOAH! This is good. I omitted the butter and cooked the onion in white wine and beef stock, cutting calories. I used red wine instead of the vinegar. It is so creamy and delicious! I can see how ham would be amazing in this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is really good and pretty easy to prepare. Great autumn dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Very good soup! Made it for company on a chilly fall day and it was a hit. After reading the reviews I left out the ham (don't care for ham unless it's spiral cut and covered in brown sugar :) ) and used 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar instead of the sherry vinegar. I liked the subtle apple flavor and the vinegar tang reminded me of my favorite chili recipe. Also added about 2 oz. of canned green chiles with the tomatoes. Served with whole wheat rolls and garnished with sour cream. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
So easy, so good. This is an easy weeknight dinner that is quick to prepare but tastes like it took hours to simmer. Highly recommend, especially with some southwest chilis and spices added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used a crock pot and let all the ingredients simmer for about 4 hours on high. IT IS DELICIOUS! I modified some items based on what I had on hand- Rice Wine Vinegar and a Spiral ham bone- and I omitted the extra salt. It is so much better than i expected it to be. The flavors play together well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I agree with all the other reviews. The recipe has a good foundation, but bland if followed strictly. I substituted a good quality cabernet for the sherry vinegar, and coconut oil for sauteing the butter and garlic. I also added 1 tbsp. curry, 1.5 tsp. cumin and 1 tsp. cayenne to the mix. Also needed additional salt and pepper. I prefer vegetable or chicken stock to beef as I think the subtleness of the pumpkin gets overrun with the strong beef flavor. And finally, when serving, I add sour cream to each bowl and stir. I also agree it does not need the ham. Top with chive and toasted pumpkin seeds and the recipe is elevated from ok to fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is a really delicious soup! I had some leftover bacon so I crumbled it in..it added some salt and extra flavor, super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States