Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
so glad I found this. I was searching for a recipe because I had beef stock I'd made (grass fed beef/bones)and wanted to use it all up rather than freeze it. I still have a lot of beef bones to make the next crockpot batch. Right now, I get local garden fresh organically grown tomatoes, and always have dried beans on hand. I had dried black beans so I soaked and used those, and I had a can of pureed pumpkin I knew Id use somehow. I have apple cider vinegar and use turmeric frequently so used those and added some cayenne pepper (tiny pinch) w chili pepper ~ along w fresh ground black pepper and himalayan salt. (I don't use salt in my homemade stock.) Some water buffalo yogurt I had on hand as garnish ~ rich thick and delish, and huge pot of soup at very low cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Curtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My whole family loved it. Didn't have sherry vinegar, but used marsala cooking wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I liked it! I made a double batch so I would have enough leftovers so my wife and I could have it for lunch through the week. After eating 3 good sized bowls each(it was very good), we still had enough to fill a dozen lunch sized bowls, a 4 cup bowl that I sent with my in-laws the next day and an 8 cup bowl that I ended up freezing! (It about filled my 12 quart stockpot) I am going to modify it slightly the next time I make it in just a few weeks. I am going to use 2 cans black and 2 cans cannelinni beans. Blending one of each to lighten the color of the soup base and adding the 2nd can of cannelinis whole into the soup to give even more color contrast and beans. I am also going to use 1 lb of ham, because it just didn't seem like enough. I also had to substitute the sherry vinegar for red wine vinegar, because the store didn't have any. looking up substitutions now, a few sites recommend rice wine vinegar. Mine did have a pretty strong, but still good, vinegar flavor. I do recommend trying this soup as an interesting alternative to standard bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
It was bland prior to adding chilli flakes, cumin, cajun spices etc. but turned out wonderfully! I used fresh puréed pumpkin and next time would add it to the blender as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Used fresh pumpkin. Used 1 can kidney, 1 can black, 1 can chili beans (with sauce). Added 1/2 tsp cumin, coriander, and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This soup was awesome! But I did make some changes.. I like chunky soup so I took one can of undrained black beans and puréed with pumpkin puree. Left tomatoes chunky. Also I minced the ham in the blender as well. Used oil instead of butter to sauté. Used onion powder and basil, and I did not have sherry vinegar so I Used 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 1 tbsp rice vinegar. Turned out so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
WOAH! This is good. I omitted the butter and cooked the onion in white wine and beef stock, cutting calories. I used red wine instead of the vinegar. It is so creamy and delicious! I can see how ham would be amazing in this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is really good and pretty easy to prepare. Great autumn dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Very good soup! Made it for company on a chilly fall day and it was a hit. After reading the reviews I left out the ham (don't care for ham unless it's spiral cut and covered in brown sugar :) ) and used 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar instead of the sherry vinegar. I liked the subtle apple flavor and the vinegar tang reminded me of my favorite chili recipe. Also added about 2 oz. of canned green chiles with the tomatoes. Served with whole wheat rolls and garnished with sour cream. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
So easy, so good. This is an easy weeknight dinner that is quick to prepare but tastes like it took hours to simmer. Highly recommend, especially with some southwest chilis and spices added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States