Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was pretty tasty! I left out the sherry vinegar and added one tablespoon of salsa per serving... and I will surely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I've made this recipe several times and it has been a winner for everyone who has tried it. I can't say that it's lovely to look at, but after the first taste, any reservation is gone. Even my kids eat it. I omit the meat and leave the beans whole, but follow the recipe otherwise. This soup is regularly found on our table. I usually double the recipe for lunches throughout the following week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very tasty! I couldn't taste the pumpkin, but that's fine with me because I was really just looking for a way to sneak vegetables to my veggie-hating husband. I used balsamic vinegar instead of sherry vinegar and turkey ham instead of regular, but I doubt that changed the taste much. There was a lot of ham for my tastes, but my husband loves ham, so it was perfect for him. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Great recipe! I used smoked turkey necks instead of the pork hock and added a little seasoned salt and a couple of bay leaves for extra flavor. I took this soup to work for a pot luck luncheon and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Excellent soup! I doubled the recipe and added a can of spicy diced tomatoes for one of the cans of regular diced. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I loved this but had to add a bit of New Mexico's Hatch Green Chilies to spice it up a bit. I also added a dash of Louisiana Hot Sauce. I pressure cooked the beans and had wonderful ham to add. I also added lots of cut up tomatoes from my freezer as I had a bumper crop of tomatoes last year. Good hearty, THICK and filling soup. Great for watching weight. Omit the ham for a vegan treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ysidro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This soup is delicious! Skipped the onion. Used a can of "black beans with chiles and lime" along with 2 cans regular beans. The jalapeno gave it just the right amount of kick. This is a new house favorite, look forward to making again and again. Oh, and I did not add the salt, this soup was salty enough without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was excellent! The pumpkin is very subtle, but good. I added cider vinegar because I didn't have sherry vinegar and it was very good. I ate for lunch for two days in row after and it is very good as leftovers. Great for my low calorie high fiber diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
DH and I fought over the leftovers! Used diced tomatoes w/basil,garlic oregano. Also used cider vinegar instead of sherry. Left the ham out completely. Swirled with plain yogurt or sour cream, both yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Delish! pureed some jalapenos with the black beans for a little spice. I was worried b/c my husband doesn't care for pumpkin/squash flavors but it is so subtle he really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States