Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews about too-strong vinegar before I added mine... They are absolutely right. Also added the 1t. Cumin and some dried chopped cilantro to try and warm up the flavor. I want to like bean soups and keep trying variations, but seem to like the idea better than the resulting tastes, so take my 3 stars as a non-bean lover...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The recipe was good as a base. I felt it lacked something so I added chipotle chiles and little allspice to give it some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great recipe on its own, but I did take the advice of those who used apple cider vinegar rather than sherry vinegar and it was a hit. I also added cumin, which I always think adds a good flavor to black bean soups. The pumpkin gives the soups a nice sweetness, as well. Since there are only two of us, the rest of the soup is ready for the freezer for more meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickiK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
awesome soup. it's incredibly easy to make, just chop, saute, dump everything together and let it simmer. it has a nice toothsome, almost meaty taste and i think the pumpkin may be responsible for that. i added extra garlic, because we're major garlic lovers, and used only one can of beef broth because we like soup on the thick side. but no matter what you do, you can't ruin it. i took someone's advice and used coriander and cumin and i think it really enhanced the flavors. i also added an extra can of black beans for more chunk, and about a cup of heavy cream because i wanted to use it up. serve it with sour cream or plain yogurt mixed with a bit of lime juice and it's heaven. not the prettiest soup out there, but you'll be coming back for more and more. thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made it this afternoon and I found it to be quite bland actually - I did switch out the beef broth for chicken and i used pancetta instead of ham. I landed up adding a little more salt, pepper and I added 7.5ml of cumin and chilli powder. Helped a bit. I did add frozen corn - in the photo not in the recipe. Still needs something though. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was such an easy recipe and yet so good. I added some ancho chili powder and chipotle hot sauce to give it some spice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Frankensoup: As Hurricane/Cyclone/Superstorm Sandy swooped upon us, I served this soup to great acclaim. Suggested changes I included were: 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp cayenne, 1 bay leaf, chicken broth instead of beef broth, left out ham, apple cider vinegar instead of sherry vinegar, and don't forget a can of crispy corn.The dollop of sour cream is wonderful, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Simple but satisfying !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made several changes including using vegetable broth, adding vegan taco 'meat' and adding cayanne pepper. My man does not like the texture of pumpkin pie and won't eat it, but he kept returning to the pot last night. He used tortilla chips and ate it as a dip. Rave reviews. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it just as ordered. Very good and not too pumpkin-ey for those who are averse to pumpkin-stuff. Will make again! Oh, btw, does not look like the photo. If they used a photo of actual soup no one would be enticed to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States