Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Very easy and the taste was good! I didn't follow the recipe to exact because of lack of or taste preferences. I only had 2 cans of black beans so I used a can of chick peas. Only added 3 cups of broth and used 1 3/4 cups of fresh cooked pumpkin instead of canned. I decied to make it vegetarian so I left out the ham. Instead of adding vinegar I used 3T. louisiana hot sauce for some kick. Garnished it with plain yogurt, chopped chives and served it with corn bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Loved it! Used some of the other reviewers suggestions and added 1T cumin, 1/2 cayennne pepper, increased the garlic (we love garlic), omitted the butter and ham, used apple cider vinegar (that's what I had on hand), and reduced the broth to 3 1/4 cups (we like soup a little on the thick side). Simmered the soup for about 35 minutes. I don't think we missed anything by not adding the ham. Was even better the second day for lunch. Delish : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for a catering that i did. Was very well recieved, however i added a little cumin to this soup and some corn to the mix. This is also very good with chicken instead of ham! All in all great soup glad i gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Simple to prepare and delicious. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and only pureed one can of beans. I also added some cumin, omitted the garlic and added some pumpkin pie spice. It turned out nicely. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I took other reviewer's advice and added cumin and it made this recipe taste too much like chili. Also, I couldn't really taste the pumpkin. It was ok, but if I wanted chili I would have made chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Unique and complex flavors, a wonderful soup, more like a stew, and I used a bit of red wine insteadnofmthe sherry vinegar, just before serving. This one is a keeper. I also cooked it a crockpot on low for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
We really liked this. I ended up browning a couple of Italian sausages broken up in with the onion and garlic because I had it on hand and we are not keen on ham. Used two cans of regular black beans and one of jalepeno spiced black beans which added a nice kick. Used vegetable broth instead of beef. Completely forgot to add the vinegar. Not a problem. Thanks for a really delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Read all the reviews, used evoo, rotel tomaotes, added cumin and bay leaf and no salt. Served with bisquits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Oh my goodness, what a spin on blackbean soup!! This is a delicious hearty soup. Pumpkin was subtle and added a heartiness along with the blackbeans. The sauteed onion and garlic really added flavor. Hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
It was great. I didn't have sherry vinegar, so used apple cider vinegar. I did add 1/4 tsp cayenne and a dash of cumin. Used chicken stock instead of beef stock. I didn't purée the tomatoes. I added a can of corn. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States