Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
this is a great recipe, tasted wonderful, I added some tiny yukon potatoes (halved)that I had left over, and had to use cider vinegar, but threw in a little sherry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was absolutely fantastic, the flavor kind of surprised me. I'm not usually a fan of savory pumpkin recipes, but decided to give it a go anyhow. The pumpkin was a very light flavor, most of it comes from the black beans and ham, but it's still noticeable. I used fresh pumpkin, everything else was canned, and I was pretty happy with how it turned out. I would say though that I'm not sure if the 25 minutes was long enough, but it's hard to say. I was still busy pureeing the pumpkin when the onions and garlic were done, so I turned down the heat and eventually removed it from heat for a while so I could get that done. By the time I got it back on, it had cooled considerably. When the 25 min had passed, it was no where near thickened. I put the timer back at 5 min about 3 or 4 times before it finally got the intended thickness. It was well worth the time it took!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Coffey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very easy but very boring. I added cumin, cayenne pepper, chili powder, malt vinegar and a large jar of peach-pineapple salsa. After that it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great! I didn't have sherry vinegar so used rice vinegar, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
definitely a keeper! i had my doubts...(pumpkin & black beans?!?) and never thought in a zillion years my husband would eat it (and he wouldn't have if i told him it included pumpkin), but we both agree, it is DEEELISH! as written, it is 5 stars, but following the suggestions of others, adding cumin, bay leaf, & corn = 6 stars! the pumpkin is very subtle. a daring recipe with a nice pay off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made according to recipe but left out ham. Tasted and thought it too bland so I added the following spices and it turned out delicious: 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, 1/2 tsp brown sugar, 1 tsp Tumeric, 1/2 tsp Cardomom, 1/4 tsp Cloves,two shakes of Cayenne and Voila! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The whole family loved this. It was great w/o the ham, but it was so much better with it. I actually used 3/4 lb because my boys love ham. I followed the recipe,except I used less butter to sautee the onion, and loved it! (oops, forgot that I didn't have sherry vinegar, so followed others suggestions of using apple cider vinegar and a tbsp sherry.) However, I then added a little cumin, cayenne pepper and a little chili/garlic paste and a 1/2 c or so of salsa to kick it up a notch. It's funny, but you don't taste the pumpkin at all, but it does add a layer of flavor that is just amazing! I am sure any squash would work too. Great recipe as is or kicked up a notch....just depends on what you perfer. Thanks for a great healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Odd tasting, odd looking, odd smelling and bland in the original recipe form. We added a tsp of cumin, a 1/2 tsp of chipotle powder, 1/2 tsp Torani Bacon syrup, extra salt, and 1 can of diced Ortega chilies. Gives it a more southwestern feel. Top with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and have with some tortilla chips on the side. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This soup takes remarkably like baked beans. If I wanted baked beans (and I didn't) I would have bought a can rather than getting my food processor dirty. Very disappointing! This is the first time I have disliked something that contains black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Oh my goodness, this was soooo.... good, I used fire roasted tomatoes, and some kidney beans for puree, didn't have enough black beans, also added the corn, which wasn't in the recipe, but looked so pretty in the picture. Just great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States