Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for a catering that i did. Was very well recieved, however i added a little cumin to this soup and some corn to the mix. This is also very good with chicken instead of ham! All in all great soup glad i gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Simple to prepare and delicious. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and only pureed one can of beans. I also added some cumin, omitted the garlic and added some pumpkin pie spice. It turned out nicely. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I took other reviewer's advice and added cumin and it made this recipe taste too much like chili. Also, I couldn't really taste the pumpkin. It was ok, but if I wanted chili I would have made chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Unique and complex flavors, a wonderful soup, more like a stew, and I used a bit of red wine insteadnofmthe sherry vinegar, just before serving. This one is a keeper. I also cooked it a crockpot on low for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
We really liked this. I ended up browning a couple of Italian sausages broken up in with the onion and garlic because I had it on hand and we are not keen on ham. Used two cans of regular black beans and one of jalepeno spiced black beans which added a nice kick. Used vegetable broth instead of beef. Completely forgot to add the vinegar. Not a problem. Thanks for a really delicious and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Read all the reviews, used evoo, rotel tomaotes, added cumin and bay leaf and no salt. Served with bisquits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Oh my goodness, what a spin on blackbean soup!! This is a delicious hearty soup. Pumpkin was subtle and added a heartiness along with the blackbeans. The sauteed onion and garlic really added flavor. Hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
It was great. I didn't have sherry vinegar, so used apple cider vinegar. I did add 1/4 tsp cayenne and a dash of cumin. Used chicken stock instead of beef stock. I didn't purée the tomatoes. I added a can of corn. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So glad I tried this! It was unique and delicious. Here are my changes: first, I read the recipe wrong and only bought one can of beans. I just added them undrained and did not purée any. I imagine this made my soup less thick than what it was meant to be, but I liked it. Three cans sounds like overkill to me anyway. I'd think all you'd be able to taste was beans! Anyway my result was a thick broth. The "cover" picture shown with this recipe looks like the consistency mine had. I also did not add any salt since the canned broth, beans, and tomatoes and butter and ham are all pretty salty to begin with. I used apple cider vinegar and only two tablespoons. I thought it was lacking in depth flavor-wise so I also added two pinches of nutmeg and about half a teaspoon of ground coriander. I garnished with fresh cilantro which really brightened up the final product. Very good soup! I'm betting it'll taste even better tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews about too-strong vinegar before I added mine... They are absolutely right. Also added the 1t. Cumin and some dried chopped cilantro to try and warm up the flavor. I want to like bean soups and keep trying variations, but seem to like the idea better than the resulting tastes, so take my 3 stars as a non-bean lover...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States