Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Great! I didn't have sherry vinegar so used rice vinegar, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
definitely a keeper! i had my doubts...(pumpkin & black beans?!?) and never thought in a zillion years my husband would eat it (and he wouldn't have if i told him it included pumpkin), but we both agree, it is DEEELISH! as written, it is 5 stars, but following the suggestions of others, adding cumin, bay leaf, & corn = 6 stars! the pumpkin is very subtle. a daring recipe with a nice pay off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made according to recipe but left out ham. Tasted and thought it too bland so I added the following spices and it turned out delicious: 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, 1/2 tsp brown sugar, 1 tsp Tumeric, 1/2 tsp Cardomom, 1/4 tsp Cloves,two shakes of Cayenne and Voila! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The whole family loved this. It was great w/o the ham, but it was so much better with it. I actually used 3/4 lb because my boys love ham. I followed the recipe,except I used less butter to sautee the onion, and loved it! (oops, forgot that I didn't have sherry vinegar, so followed others suggestions of using apple cider vinegar and a tbsp sherry.) However, I then added a little cumin, cayenne pepper and a little chili/garlic paste and a 1/2 c or so of salsa to kick it up a notch. It's funny, but you don't taste the pumpkin at all, but it does add a layer of flavor that is just amazing! I am sure any squash would work too. Great recipe as is or kicked up a notch....just depends on what you perfer. Thanks for a great healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Odd tasting, odd looking, odd smelling and bland in the original recipe form. We added a tsp of cumin, a 1/2 tsp of chipotle powder, 1/2 tsp Torani Bacon syrup, extra salt, and 1 can of diced Ortega chilies. Gives it a more southwestern feel. Top with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and have with some tortilla chips on the side. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This soup takes remarkably like baked beans. If I wanted baked beans (and I didn't) I would have bought a can rather than getting my food processor dirty. Very disappointing! This is the first time I have disliked something that contains black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Oh my goodness, this was soooo.... good, I used fire roasted tomatoes, and some kidney beans for puree, didn't have enough black beans, also added the corn, which wasn't in the recipe, but looked so pretty in the picture. Just great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Very easy and the taste was good! I didn't follow the recipe to exact because of lack of or taste preferences. I only had 2 cans of black beans so I used a can of chick peas. Only added 3 cups of broth and used 1 3/4 cups of fresh cooked pumpkin instead of canned. I decied to make it vegetarian so I left out the ham. Instead of adding vinegar I used 3T. louisiana hot sauce for some kick. Garnished it with plain yogurt, chopped chives and served it with corn bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Loved it! Used some of the other reviewers suggestions and added 1T cumin, 1/2 cayennne pepper, increased the garlic (we love garlic), omitted the butter and ham, used apple cider vinegar (that's what I had on hand), and reduced the broth to 3 1/4 cups (we like soup a little on the thick side). Simmered the soup for about 35 minutes. I don't think we missed anything by not adding the ham. Was even better the second day for lunch. Delish : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for a catering that i did. Was very well recieved, however i added a little cumin to this soup and some corn to the mix. This is also very good with chicken instead of ham! All in all great soup glad i gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States