Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Kids declared this the best ever. Used chicken versus ham b/c that s what I had. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scubies Dad
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great recipe as a base. Sometimes the basic recipes are a little bland but that lets you take it to your own personal tastes.(Southwestern, Indian or even well blended for a smooth, creamy experience) I think you can take it in any direction you want. I added some Tumeric and Jalapeno to add some heat. I also made cooked my own black beans instead of canned. I then gave it a loose mash to have both the texture from the mashed beans and some whole beans for a more rustic look. I served with Pita and a Zinfandel. Pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubies Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A bit bland, but a good base. I used chicken broth instead of beef broth, and red wine vinegar, as that's what I had on hand. After tasting, I added some cayenne pepper and gunpowder (jalapeno pepper spice), as well as some extra black pepper. I threw in some corn as well, just for kicks. I may try it again with some of the tweaks other reviewers have used. Again, very bland on its own, but a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7RandomNames

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was fine. I have other recipes for black bean soup that I like better, with a more Mexican kick, but I was glad I tried this. If you are trying to get more vitamins in your diet, I would definitely try this, can't beat the nutritional values in pumpkin. Thanks for posting, I have been wanting to try this for a while and am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Add corn (2 cups, frozen) when you add the pumpkin!! It adds a sweet flavor that deliciously counters the bean's flavor :) the sweet corn pops in your mouth! This soup freezes very well, in individual servings-- perfect for when you forget to make a lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Wow! I have made this recipe a couple of times. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. But the second, I added 4 carrots in generous chunks, a cup of frozen organic corn, an extra can of beans, and 2 chunked scrubbed organic red potatoes with the skins. I also added 1/4 tsp. cayenne, 1 teaspoon cumin, a few red pepper flakes, and 1 bay leaf. After adding the ham, it was more like a soup/stew, which we enjoyed because it was so chunky. This recipe is so versatile that you can make additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is absolutely scrumtious! Really delicious! The recipe was followed exactly and the entire family raved about it. Could omit the ham without detracting from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very good will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wickford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I cut the recipe size down to 3 servings so I put nothing in the blender. This was a great tasting, quick, thick soup that was easy to make and hit the spot on a snowy, cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States