Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Add corn (2 cups, frozen) when you add the pumpkin!! It adds a sweet flavor that deliciously counters the bean's flavor :) the sweet corn pops in your mouth! This soup freezes very well, in individual servings-- perfect for when you forget to make a lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Wow! I have made this recipe a couple of times. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. But the second, I added 4 carrots in generous chunks, a cup of frozen organic corn, an extra can of beans, and 2 chunked scrubbed organic red potatoes with the skins. I also added 1/4 tsp. cayenne, 1 teaspoon cumin, a few red pepper flakes, and 1 bay leaf. After adding the ham, it was more like a soup/stew, which we enjoyed because it was so chunky. This recipe is so versatile that you can make additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is absolutely scrumtious! Really delicious! The recipe was followed exactly and the entire family raved about it. Could omit the ham without detracting from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very good will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wickford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I cut the recipe size down to 3 servings so I put nothing in the blender. This was a great tasting, quick, thick soup that was easy to make and hit the spot on a snowy, cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good! Always looking for "different" soups to make in the winter months. this is easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Oh my goodness, this soup was amazing! I did add and change a few things, however. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, I used fresh cilantro, chives, red and yellow peppers and included 5 stalks of green onion and left out the ham. I pureed the entire soup and topped it with some slices of avocado. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I put in a can of Rotel tomatoes with chilis and it really added an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
When I told the family what was for dinner - you should have seen the skeptical looks..... then they ate, and they ate, and they ate. I agree with comment that is also very good reheated the next day. For my crowd I substituted cut up smoked sausage in lieu of ham because that is what I had, and the smokey added flavor was fabulous. I highly recommend this one..... very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States