Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great Soup! I added cumin as well, and a little dash of cinnimon! Great flavor! I might also just puree one can of black beans first for a little chunkier texture. I left out the Ham, but added corn. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
i was a bit concerned about this soup... but i shouldn't have been! It was delicious. I sauted the ham with the onion and garlic. it really brought out the ham flavor. I didn't blend the tomatoes and beans as directed...instead i used a potato masher while it was cooking and mashed it up a bit. i also added cumin and cayenne pepper. It was super easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
For my version I used vegetable broth. I omitted the ham and was surprised it was still so flavorful. I didn't add any salt, the salt in the canned beans and tomatoes and the broth was plenty. I sauteed the onions and garlic in canola oil instead of butter, and added some fenugreek seeds. I also added several big handfuls of chopped fresh spinach. It's still a great recipe even if you turn it into a vegan soup. Oh, and I also didn't process the beans and tomatoes beforehand; instead, I put everything into the soup pot, then half way through the simmer I just blended half the soup in a blender then added it back to the pot. I used cooking sherry instead of sherry vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I have made this a few times and plan on making it tomorrow for the work week. Its delicious, heart healthy and filling just as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Shane Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It sure looks like corn is in the soup in the photo but I don't see it in the list of ingredients. Wondering what I am seeing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this pretty much as stated but used dried black beans, omitted ham to lower sodium and added cumin and chili powder and it was very good. I also added corn, since it appears to be in the picture and seemed a good addition, which it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made it vegetarian by substituting vegetable broth and eliminating the ham. Also, I pureed the beans with the broth and left the tomatoes in chunks and added corn (this made it look more appetizing as well). I added cumin and coriander as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I added 1 1/2 pounds browned ground beef instead of the ham. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
delicious! picky 7yo even liked it. always a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Used one large 24.5 oz. can of black beans for the puree and one 14.5 oz. can of diced, no salt added, tomatoes and leftover stewed tomatoes in the fridge to make the 16 oz. When added to the blender, it was too thick to puree so I slowly added one cup of chicken broth; it worked; the puree was smooth. I used 1/4 c. margarine but next time I will use the margarine/oil combination mentioned by others; you don't need 1/4 cup. Since I used fresh pumpkin, I only needed a total of 2 cups of chicken broth and one cup of water. Next time, I will use only two cups of chicken broth for a thicker soup. I omitted the ham; didn't have on hand and used apple cider vinegar in lieu of the sherry vinegar (same reason). I also added 1 teaspoon of cumin. Very filling but not pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States