Pumpkin Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Very good. Everybody at my Thanksgiving get together said it was warm and moist and really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made these for a late afternoon snack today, and they were simply amazing. They are light and fluffy, and eaten right out of the oven, they don't need any additional butter, honey, or other flavors added. I thought the spice amounts were just perfect; they enhanced the pumpkin flavors without overwhelming them. I do have to say; however, that I can't see how anybody could possibly get 36 biscuits out of this recipe and still have any height to them. I was able to get exactly 18 out of a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
made these last night super good but add extra brown sugar also to make them a little bit sweeter when they are almost done take then out brush them with melted butter then add brown sugar on top then pop them back into the over to finish cooking it carmalizes on top they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I dediced to try this recipe even with the mixed reviews. If you are looking for something to tase like pumpkin pie or muffin, this is not it. I made a butternut squash risotto and had these with it and it was delicious. I did take Brooke's suggesions and did the following: increase spices: 1 tbsp ground cinnamon, 1 tsp ground nutmeg, 1 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Added 1 tsp baking soda, upped the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Combined 2/3 cup milk with 1 tsp vinegar and whisked with 1 and 1/2 cups of pumpkin puree. Dropped 8 to 10 biscuits on parchment paper and baked for 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marielouise125

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Firstly, the prescribed temperature of 400 was not hot enough. These should be baked at 450. Secondly, the flavor was "blah." I had really high hoped for these, but they just did not hit the mark. 2 cups of pumpkin and seemingly scant amounts of spices did not make for yummyness. I will try again with different measurements of ingredients and see if it can be improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
If this is your first time making biscuits, don't try this recipe. But, if you know what biscuit dough is supposed to feel like, by all means, make these yummy biscuits! Just keep adding flour until the consistency feels right. Wow! I added extra spices (maybe double the amounts), and they came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Unfortunately these just didn't do it for me. Right after I pulled them out of the oven I tried one with a little apple butter and it was so yummy! However, once they cooled they seemed to have virtually no flavor and they went from being fluffy to chewy. Serve them warm and straight from the oven!!! Thanks for letting me try them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I really liked these biscuits with butter and rasberry jam. Delicious. They are a bit bland if you want them to eat alone I would add more brown sugar and spices. The texture is different from a traditional biscuit, so I didn't roll out. I used an ice cream scoop and it worked to make great drop biscuits. I also used 2 cups self-rising flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour and eliminated the baking powder. I also ended up adding a little milk to make my batter the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Fabulous if you make the following changes: increase spices: 1 tbsp ground cinnamon, 1 tsp ground nutmeg, 1 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Added 1 tsp baking soda, upped the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Combined 2/3 cup milk with 1 tsp vinegar and whisked with 1 and 1/2 cups of pumpkin puree. Dropped 8 to 10 biscuits on parchment paper and baked for 17 minutes. Oddly great with a thai pumpkin soup (nice mix of sweet and savoury).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The basic idea was good, but I think the measurments are off. I had to add almost double the flour to even make the dough workable. I definitly added more spices and a little more brown sugar too in order to get a good taste to it. The amount is off too, I got maybe 1/2 of what it said it would make. But all in all after I made adjustments they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States