Pumpkin Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is a great beginning, but I have a few suggestions. Increase flour to 3 cups, double cinnamon and ginger and add 3/4 tsp of cream of tarter. I made those changes and came out with a wonderful biscuit. It tastes delicious warm or cold and it's flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I added an extra cup of flour and mixed them in the food prcessor. I use an ice-cream scoop to form them into biscuits and flatten them before baking. Next time, I will double the amount of baking powder to make them lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I wish I would have read other reviews before making this. I ended up with runny dough. After adding another full cup of flour it still wasn't solid enough to cut into a biscuit shape. I made drop biscuits and they didn't have a lot of flavor. I'm not sure how this recipe can be fixed but it didn't work for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was an awesome recipe, and a great way to use leftovers. You may have to alter the amount of flour depending on how moist your squash mash is, but you don't want it too stiff. Cut and lift carefully, placing a little bit of flour on your surface so it wont stick as you cut. I made it the original way, and improvised 3 other ways. I found that the original recipe is not as good as my alternates. I used leftover butternut squash, with ranch dressing & italian seasoning; mash potatoes with milk & horshradish; and sweet potato with italian and garlic. Much better than the pumpkin & nutmeg/cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I have made 100's of recipes from this site and do not usually review, but had to on this one: I made these. I shortened it up a bit and used a baking mix instead of flour, and baking powder, and added more spices and brown sugar for flavor. They turned out just like the posted picture and tasted wonderful!! My dough was soft and pliable and they did rise a bit too. I will be making these again, as I have 6 tubs of fresh pureed pumpkin in my freezer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I found that making a few minor adjustments to this recipe...First set your oven to 350 not 400, next I added an extra 1/4 tsp of baking powder, I only used 3/4 of the 15 0z can of pumkin puree and doubled my spices plus added allspice. The biscuits rose and came out awesome. Don't expect the taste to be strong they're biscuits not pumkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam Nemati
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These biscuits are a bit plain, but still yummy! But: -Drop the pumpkin to 1 1/2 cups. -Add more sugar -And spice -And all things nice if you like This recipe is perfect as part of Christmas or Thanksgiving breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Lets just call them scones. They didnt rise. They crackled on top like a molasses cookie. Smear some frosting on top and they are great scones. And thats what I will use this recipe as.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was an easy recipe to make. They did not rise well at all and needed more spice flavor. At half inch thick, I was only able to cut out 18 biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
These biscuits were very easy to make. My kids loved them and they had a pleasing, light pumpkin flavor. My only complaint is that they need a bit more spice. Next time I will add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States