Pumpkin Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
INCREDIBLE! I changed/added a few items as I was working with what I had on hand...used 1 cup frozen corn, chopped small fresh tomato and finally added 1 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar. As a garnish added a dolop of sour cream. This is a keeper! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariasmenu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely perfect just as is. Reheats wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint James, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Amazing soup! I took others advice and increased the cumin to 1.5 tsp and added 2 tsp curry and 0.5 tsp of cayenne pepper, it's got the perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very nice and very hearty. It did not even need salt and pepper for taste, which is good as this soup is already high in sodium. I used dried black beans rather that canned and low sodium chicken broth to make this a truly healthy soup. I could not detect the cilantro, so would add considerably more. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made the soup as written, except for using green peppers instead of red ones. I found the need to add some extra flavor when the soup was done. I added a few shakes of chili powder and two more teaspoons of salt. I served it up with dollops of sour cream, surrounding them with a sprinkled blend of Mexican cheese, and ate it using white tortilla chips. Both my husband and I enjoyed it, was like a different kind of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vilhelmiina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
We had a small dinner party last night and featured this soup, and it was a huge hit! The only thing we changed was to puree it all with a hand blender. Creamy, hearty, perfectly spiced and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup... with our own slight twists. I wanted to keep the soup more of a southwest style, so I did not add curry and ginger as other reviewers did. I added 2 tsp of cumin and replaced the tomato sauce with a large can of diced tomatoes. Added a little kick with cayenne and garnished the soup with sour cream instead of whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I only had green pepper, so used it instead of the red pepper, I added a few mushrooms, and instead of using chicken broth, I used water. This is a hearty, tasty soup! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This soup was so flavorful and healthy. My hubby and oldest child liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I really liked this soup. The second day I added some leftover Salsa Chicken, it was even better. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States