Pumpkin Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup... with our own slight twists. I wanted to keep the soup more of a southwest style, so I did not add curry and ginger as other reviewers did. I added 2 tsp of cumin and replaced the tomato sauce with a large can of diced tomatoes. Added a little kick with cayenne and garnished the soup with sour cream instead of whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
We had a small dinner party last night and featured this soup, and it was a huge hit! The only thing we changed was to puree it all with a hand blender. Creamy, hearty, perfectly spiced and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
INCREDIBLE! I changed/added a few items as I was working with what I had on hand...used 1 cup frozen corn, chopped small fresh tomato and finally added 1 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar. As a garnish added a dolop of sour cream. This is a keeper! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariasmenu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made the soup as written, except for using green peppers instead of red ones. I found the need to add some extra flavor when the soup was done. I added a few shakes of chili powder and two more teaspoons of salt. I served it up with dollops of sour cream, surrounding them with a sprinkled blend of Mexican cheese, and ate it using white tortilla chips. Both my husband and I enjoyed it, was like a different kind of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vilhelmiina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I really liked this soup. The second day I added some leftover Salsa Chicken, it was even better. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I only had green pepper, so used it instead of the red pepper, I added a few mushrooms, and instead of using chicken broth, I used water. This is a hearty, tasty soup! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Amazing soup! I took others advice and increased the cumin to 1.5 tsp and added 2 tsp curry and 0.5 tsp of cayenne pepper, it's got the perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very nice and very hearty. It did not even need salt and pepper for taste, which is good as this soup is already high in sodium. I used dried black beans rather that canned and low sodium chicken broth to make this a truly healthy soup. I could not detect the cilantro, so would add considerably more. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely perfect just as is. Reheats wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint James, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This soup was so flavorful and healthy. My hubby and oldest child liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States