Pumpkin Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup... with our own slight twists. I wanted to keep the soup more of a southwest style, so I did not add curry and ginger as other reviewers did. I added 2 tsp of cumin and replaced the tomato sauce with a large can of diced tomatoes. Added a little kick with cayenne and garnished the soup with sour cream instead of whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
We had a small dinner party last night and featured this soup, and it was a huge hit! The only thing we changed was to puree it all with a hand blender. Creamy, hearty, perfectly spiced and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely perfect just as is. Reheats wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint James, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Amazing soup! I took others advice and increased the cumin to 1.5 tsp and added 2 tsp curry and 0.5 tsp of cayenne pepper, it's got the perfect kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very bland. I don't plan to make this again. I could have found much better uses for all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This soup was so flavorful and healthy. My hubby and oldest child liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a great soup with a few changes for my family. We used white beans, no corn, and with the suggestions of others added,1/2 tsp more cumin, 2 tsp fresh ginger, 2 tsp curry powder, and almost a 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This sounds great, I like to use grated ginger (fresh) with pumpkin or winter squash. A hint about cooking fresh pumpkin: cut in half scoop out the seeds (bake and eat the seeds) then place on oven safe pan with 1/2 inch water and roast in a 300 degrees till tender, brings out the flavor and when cooled a bit you just scoop out the pulp, NO PEELING! works for me every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I found this exact recipe on Recipezaar and love it! Although that recipe did not call for cilantro - it called for 1 tsp. curry, 1 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp cayenne - I would knock the cayenne back to 1/4 though...it was pretty spicy!! And I made it with fresh pumpkin - takes a little time to cut, peel, boil and mash the pumpkin - but tasted great and a nice way to use pumpkins this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-49 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States