Pumpkin Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Loved this! It's so healthy too. I used fat free chicken broth but next time i may try vegetable broth. I also added an extra can of beans(either black or garbanzo beans) and used frozen corn and a frozen mix of bell peppers. I did not use the cilantro but did as others suggested. I added 1 1/2 tsp of cumin, 2 tsp of curry powder, 2 tsp of ground ginger and 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Yummy, but needed more seasoning. It will be better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made the soup as written, except for using green peppers instead of red ones. I found the need to add some extra flavor when the soup was done. I added a few shakes of chili powder and two more teaspoons of salt. I served it up with dollops of sour cream, surrounding them with a sprinkled blend of Mexican cheese, and ate it using white tortilla chips. Both my husband and I enjoyed it, was like a different kind of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vilhelmiina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This soup would be a 5 if it were seasoned better; I love the veggies, but I thought it was a bit bland. I added 1 tsp fresh New Mexico red chile powder to the leftovers, and it was great. I also used a lot more cilantro, and fresh roasted pumpkin. I'd make this again with green pepper instead of red (thought the red was too sweet with the corn), more cumin, the red chile powder, and another clove of garlic. All in all, though, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
My grocery store was out of pumpkin so I substituted 12oz frozen pureed squash, added a tablespoon of curry powder, 1 can of diced rotel tomatoes with habanero peppers (because I like it hot) and shredded chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very nice and very hearty. It did not even need salt and pepper for taste, which is good as this soup is already high in sodium. I used dried black beans rather that canned and low sodium chicken broth to make this a truly healthy soup. I could not detect the cilantro, so would add considerably more. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I really liked this soup. The second day I added some leftover Salsa Chicken, it was even better. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I only had green pepper, so used it instead of the red pepper, I added a few mushrooms, and instead of using chicken broth, I used water. This is a hearty, tasty soup! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
INCREDIBLE! I changed/added a few items as I was working with what I had on hand...used 1 cup frozen corn, chopped small fresh tomato and finally added 1 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar. As a garnish added a dolop of sour cream. This is a keeper! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariasmenu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup... with our own slight twists. I wanted to keep the soup more of a southwest style, so I did not add curry and ginger as other reviewers did. I added 2 tsp of cumin and replaced the tomato sauce with a large can of diced tomatoes. Added a little kick with cayenne and garnished the soup with sour cream instead of whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States